Skip to content

Harris-Stowe State University vs Research College of Nursing

Harris-Stowe State University is a public university in Saint Louis, MO, and Research College of Nursing is a private for-profit college in Kansas City, MO. Research College of Nursing is the more selective of the two, admitting about 49% of applicants against 51% at Harris-Stowe State University. Ten years after enrolling, Research College of Nursing alumni earn a median of about $85,910, against $31,088 for Harris-Stowe State University.

Harris-Stowe State University

Saint Louis, MO · Public

Research College of Nursing

Kansas City, MO · Private (for-profit)
At a glance
Type
Public
Private (for-profit)
Location
Saint Louis, MO
Kansas City, MO
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
960
177
Acceptance rate
51%
49%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.3–3.8
3.36–4
SAT (middle 50%)
830–950
1080–1290
ACT (middle 50%)
15–19
22–28
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$9,922
Not reported
Full cost / yr
$21,493
Not reported
In-state tuition
$7,008
Not reported
Out-of-state tuition
$11,640
Not reported
Application fee
Not reported
$60
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$9,827
Not reported
$30k - $48k
$10,963
Not reported
$48k - $75k
$9,814
Not reported
$75k - $110k
$8,563
Not reported
Over $110k
$6,238
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
28%
Not reported
Freshman retention
68%
Not reported
Median earnings (6 yr)
$26,634
$72,771
Median earnings (10 yr)
$31,088
$85,910
Median debt at graduation
$25,930
$13,930
Student body
Pell grant recipients
74%
18%
First-generation students
47%
Not reported
International students
6%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Aug 1
Apr 17

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Harris-Stowe State University or Research College of Nursing harder to get into?
Research College of Nursing is harder to get into. It admits about 49% of applicants, compared with 51% at Harris-Stowe State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is bigger, Harris-Stowe State University or Research College of Nursing?
Harris-Stowe State University is the larger of the two, with about 960 undergraduates against 177 at Research College of Nursing.
Do graduates of Harris-Stowe State University or Research College of Nursing earn more?
Research College of Nursing alumni earn more on average: a median of about $85,910 ten years after enrolling, against about $31,088 for Harris-Stowe State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Harris-Stowe State University and Research College of Nursing require SAT or ACT scores?
Harris-Stowe State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Research College of Nursing is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Harris-Stowe State University and Research College of Nursing look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 830–950 at Harris-Stowe State University and 1080–1290 at Research College of Nursing. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school