Skip to content

Holy Family University vs Misericordia University

Holy Family University is a private university in Philadelphia, PA. Misericordia University is a private university in Dallas, PA. Both admit about 71% of applicants. Students pay an average of about $13,143 a year at Holy Family University after aid, and about $37,485 at Misericordia University. About 70% of students graduate at Misericordia University, compared with 61% at Holy Family University. Ten years after enrolling, Misericordia University alumni earn a median of about $64,313, against $62,235 for Holy Family University.

Holy Family University

Philadelphia, PA · Private

Misericordia University

Dallas, PA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Philadelphia, PA
Dallas, PA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
2,464
1,672
Acceptance rate
71%
71%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.36–3.86
3.43–3.93
SAT (middle 50%)
910–1150
1050–1220
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
22–27
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,143
$37,485
Full cost / yr
$40,539
$53,648
In-state tuition
$35,330
$40,370
Out-of-state tuition
$35,330
$40,370
Application fee
Not reported
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$9,721
$36,759
$30k - $48k
$9,369
$37,554
$48k - $75k
$12,056
$36,848
$75k - $110k
$16,307
$37,879
Over $110k
$17,822
$37,665
Outcomes
Graduation rate
61%
70%
Freshman retention
78%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$55,285
$55,910
Median earnings (10 yr)
$62,235
$64,313
Median debt at graduation
$25,125
$26,973
Student body
Pell grant recipients
41%
27%
First-generation students
46%
30%
International students
2%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Holy Family University or Misericordia University harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 71% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Holy Family University or Misericordia University?
Holy Family University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,143 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $37,485 at Misericordia University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Holy Family University and Misericordia University?
Before aid, Holy Family University costs about $40,539 a year and Misericordia University about $53,648. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Holy Family University or Misericordia University?
Holy Family University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,721 there, against about $36,759 at Misericordia University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Holy Family University or Misericordia University?
Holy Family University is the larger of the two, with about 2,464 undergraduates against 1,672 at Misericordia University.
Does Holy Family University or Misericordia University have a better graduation rate?
Misericordia University has the higher graduation rate, at about 70% against 61% at Holy Family University.
Do graduates of Holy Family University or Misericordia University earn more?
Misericordia University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $64,313 ten years after enrolling, against about $62,235 for Holy Family University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Holy Family University and Misericordia University require SAT or ACT scores?
Holy Family University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Misericordia University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Holy Family University and Misericordia University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 910–1150 at Holy Family University and 1050–1220 at Misericordia University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school