Skip to content

Indiana State University vs Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global

Indiana State University is a public university in Terre Haute, IN. Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global is a private university in Marion, IN. Indiana State University admits about 81% of applicants and Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global about 100%, making Indiana State University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $10,873 a year at Indiana State University after aid, and about $16,898 at Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global. About 42% of students graduate at Indiana State University, compared with 36% at Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global. Ten years after enrolling, Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global alumni earn a median of about $59,986, against $48,387 for Indiana State University.

Indiana State University

Terre Haute, IN · Public

Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global

Marion, IN · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Terre Haute, IN
Marion, IN
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
6,188
6,656
Acceptance rate
81%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.33–3.83
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
910–1120
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
16–23
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$10,873
$16,898
Full cost / yr
$24,535
$22,228
In-state tuition
$10,258
$8,208
Out-of-state tuition
$22,322
$8,208
Application fee
$25
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$6,455
$16,298
$30k - $48k
$6,571
$16,713
$48k - $75k
$9,317
$17,159
$75k - $110k
$15,450
$20,090
Over $110k
$19,345
$21,757
Outcomes
Graduation rate
42%
36%
Freshman retention
66%
Not reported
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,047
$51,329
Median earnings (10 yr)
$48,387
$59,986
Median debt at graduation
$24,000
$24,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
42%
48%
First-generation students
36%
47%
International students
2%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Indiana State University or Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global harder to get into?
Indiana State University is harder to get into. It admits about 81% of applicants, compared with 100% at Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Indiana State University or Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global?
Indiana State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $10,873 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $16,898 at Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Indiana State University and Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global?
Before aid, Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global costs about $22,228 a year and Indiana State University about $24,535. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Indiana State University or Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global?
Indiana State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $6,455 there, against about $16,298 at Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Indiana State University or Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global?
Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global is the larger of the two, with about 6,656 undergraduates against 6,188 at Indiana State University.
Does Indiana State University or Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global have a better graduation rate?
Indiana State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 42% against 36% at Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global.
Do graduates of Indiana State University or Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global earn more?
Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global alumni earn more on average: a median of about $59,986 ten years after enrolling, against about $48,387 for Indiana State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Indiana State University and Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global require SAT or ACT scores?
Indiana State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school