Skip to content

Indiana University-Indianapolis vs Purdue University Northwest

Indiana University-Indianapolis is a public university in Indianapolis, IN, and Purdue University Northwest is a public university in Hammond, IN. Purdue University Northwest is the more selective of the two, admitting about 72% of applicants against 76% at Indiana University-Indianapolis. Purdue University Northwest is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $6,079 a year against $11,668 at Indiana University-Indianapolis. About 54% of students graduate at Indiana University-Indianapolis, compared with 43% at Purdue University Northwest. Ten years after enrolling, Indiana University-Indianapolis alumni earn a median of about $55,198, against $48,318 for Purdue University Northwest.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Indiana University-Indianapolis

Indianapolis, IN · Public

Purdue University Northwest

Hammond, IN · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Hammond, IN
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
13,830
5,671
Acceptance rate
76%
72%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.41–3.91
3.36–3.86
SAT (middle 50%)
1030–1240
890–1140
ACT (middle 50%)
21–29
16–24
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$11,668
$6,079
Full cost / yr
$23,316
$15,571
In-state tuition
$10,762
$8,675
Out-of-state tuition
$34,891
$16,094
Application fee
$65
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$5,701
$1,432
$30k - $48k
$5,995
$2,428
$48k - $75k
$11,038
$7,026
$75k - $110k
$18,056
$12,452
Over $110k
$20,680
$13,645
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
43%
Freshman retention
72%
66%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$47,173
$48,439
Median earnings (10 yr)
$55,198
$48,318
Median debt at graduation
$20,000
$21,229
Student body
Pell grant recipients
37%
28%
First-generation students
35%
43%
International students
2%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jul 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Indiana University-Indianapolis or Purdue University Northwest harder to get into?
Purdue University Northwest is harder to get into. It admits about 72% of applicants, compared with 76% at Indiana University-Indianapolis. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Indiana University-Indianapolis or Purdue University Northwest?
Purdue University Northwest is cheaper on average. Students pay about $6,079 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $11,668 at Indiana University-Indianapolis. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Indiana University-Indianapolis and Purdue University Northwest?
Before aid, Purdue University Northwest costs about $15,571 a year and Indiana University-Indianapolis about $23,316. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Indiana University-Indianapolis or Purdue University Northwest?
Purdue University Northwest. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $1,432 there, against about $5,701 at Indiana University-Indianapolis. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Indiana University-Indianapolis or Purdue University Northwest?
Indiana University-Indianapolis is the larger of the two, with about 13,830 undergraduates against 5,671 at Purdue University Northwest.
Does Indiana University-Indianapolis or Purdue University Northwest have a better graduation rate?
Indiana University-Indianapolis has the higher graduation rate, at about 54% against 43% at Purdue University Northwest.
Do graduates of Indiana University-Indianapolis or Purdue University Northwest earn more?
Indiana University-Indianapolis alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,198 ten years after enrolling, against about $48,318 for Purdue University Northwest. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Indiana University-Indianapolis and Purdue University Northwest require SAT or ACT scores?
Indiana University-Indianapolis is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Purdue University Northwest is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Indiana University-Indianapolis and Purdue University Northwest look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1030–1240 at Indiana University-Indianapolis and 890–1140 at Purdue University Northwest. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school