Skip to content

Indiana University-Southeast vs Trine University

Indiana University-Southeast is a public university in New Albany, IN, and Trine University is a private university in Angola, IN. Indiana University-Southeast is the more selective of the two, admitting about 84% of applicants against 85% at Trine University. Indiana University-Southeast is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $7,888 a year against $25,355 at Trine University. About 66% of students graduate at Trine University, compared with 36% at Indiana University-Southeast. Ten years after enrolling, Trine University alumni earn a median of about $57,165, against $47,596 for Indiana University-Southeast.

Indiana University-Southeast

New Albany, IN · Public

Trine University

Angola, IN · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
New Albany, IN
Angola, IN
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
3,170
2,324
Acceptance rate
84%
85%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.32–3.82
3.36–3.86
SAT (middle 50%)
970–1180
1030–1240
ACT (middle 50%)
20–25
21–28
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$7,888
$25,355
Full cost / yr
$16,411
$51,109
In-state tuition
$8,424
$36,560
Out-of-state tuition
$22,811
$36,560
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$3,782
$19,661
$30k - $48k
$4,978
$20,470
$48k - $75k
$7,046
$19,463
$75k - $110k
$11,730
$24,031
Over $110k
$14,276
$29,066
Outcomes
Graduation rate
36%
66%
Freshman retention
64%
80%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$42,290
$53,010
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,596
$57,165
Median debt at graduation
$19,684
$25,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
32%
16%
First-generation students
41%
32%
International students
0%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Indiana University-Southeast or Trine University harder to get into?
Indiana University-Southeast is harder to get into. It admits about 84% of applicants, compared with 85% at Trine University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Indiana University-Southeast or Trine University?
Indiana University-Southeast is cheaper on average. Students pay about $7,888 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,355 at Trine University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Indiana University-Southeast and Trine University?
Before aid, Indiana University-Southeast costs about $16,411 a year and Trine University about $51,109. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Indiana University-Southeast or Trine University?
Indiana University-Southeast. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $3,782 there, against about $19,661 at Trine University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Indiana University-Southeast or Trine University?
Indiana University-Southeast is the larger of the two, with about 3,170 undergraduates against 2,324 at Trine University.
Does Indiana University-Southeast or Trine University have a better graduation rate?
Trine University has the higher graduation rate, at about 66% against 36% at Indiana University-Southeast.
Do graduates of Indiana University-Southeast or Trine University earn more?
Trine University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $57,165 ten years after enrolling, against about $47,596 for Indiana University-Southeast. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Indiana University-Southeast and Trine University require SAT or ACT scores?
Indiana University-Southeast is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Trine University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Indiana University-Southeast and Trine University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 970–1180 at Indiana University-Southeast and 1030–1240 at Trine University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school