Skip to content

Iowa State University vs Mercy College of Health Sciences

Iowa State University is a public university in Ames, IA, and Mercy College of Health Sciences is a private college in Des Moines, IA. Iowa State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 89% of applicants against 100% at Mercy College of Health Sciences. Iowa State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $18,589 a year against $26,924 at Mercy College of Health Sciences. About 75% of students graduate at Iowa State University, compared with 56% at Mercy College of Health Sciences. Ten years after enrolling, Iowa State University alumni earn a median of about $63,386, against $62,234 for Mercy College of Health Sciences.

Iowa State University

Ames, IA · Public

Mercy College of Health Sciences

Des Moines, IA · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Ames, IA
Des Moines, IA
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
25,367
867
Acceptance rate
89%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
~3.76 avg
3.13–3.63
SAT (middle 50%)
1120–1360
1010–1180
ACT (middle 50%)
21–28
16–21
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,589
$26,924
Full cost / yr
$24,018
$34,398
In-state tuition
$10,787
$17,664
Out-of-state tuition
$28,881
$17,664
Application fee
$40
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,582
$24,171
$30k - $48k
$11,506
$27,533
$48k - $75k
$15,463
$29,193
$75k - $110k
$19,605
$26,615
Over $110k
$22,496
$29,953
Outcomes
Graduation rate
75%
56%
Freshman retention
88%
69%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$53,873
$53,375
Median earnings (10 yr)
$63,386
$62,234
Median debt at graduation
$22,869
$14,745
Student body
Pell grant recipients
19%
34%
First-generation students
20%
35%
International students
4%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Iowa State University or Mercy College of Health Sciences harder to get into?
Iowa State University is harder to get into. It admits about 89% of applicants, compared with 100% at Mercy College of Health Sciences. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Iowa State University or Mercy College of Health Sciences?
Iowa State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,589 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $26,924 at Mercy College of Health Sciences. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Iowa State University and Mercy College of Health Sciences?
Before aid, Iowa State University costs about $24,018 a year and Mercy College of Health Sciences about $34,398. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Iowa State University or Mercy College of Health Sciences?
Iowa State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,582 there, against about $24,171 at Mercy College of Health Sciences. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Iowa State University or Mercy College of Health Sciences?
Iowa State University is the larger of the two, with about 25,367 undergraduates against 867 at Mercy College of Health Sciences.
Does Iowa State University or Mercy College of Health Sciences have a better graduation rate?
Iowa State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 75% against 56% at Mercy College of Health Sciences.
Do graduates of Iowa State University or Mercy College of Health Sciences earn more?
Iowa State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $63,386 ten years after enrolling, against about $62,234 for Mercy College of Health Sciences. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Iowa State University and Mercy College of Health Sciences require SAT or ACT scores?
Iowa State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Mercy College of Health Sciences considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Iowa State University and Mercy College of Health Sciences look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1120–1360 at Iowa State University and 1010–1180 at Mercy College of Health Sciences. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school