Skip to content

Jackson State University vs University of Mississippi

Jackson State University is a public university in Jackson, MS. University of Mississippi is a public university in University, MS. Jackson State University admits about 93% of applicants and University of Mississippi about 97%, making Jackson State University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $13,314 a year at University of Mississippi after aid, and about $23,836 at Jackson State University. About 70% of students graduate at University of Mississippi, compared with 41% at Jackson State University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Mississippi alumni earn a median of about $50,994, against $39,060 for Jackson State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Jackson State University

Jackson, MS · Public

University of Mississippi

University, MS · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Jackson, MS
University, MS
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
4,600
21,473
Acceptance rate
93%
97%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.1–3.6
3.19–3.69
SAT (middle 50%)
820–1070
1000–1200
ACT (middle 50%)
15–20
21–29
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$23,836
$13,314
Full cost / yr
$32,415
$28,660
In-state tuition
$8,965
$9,772
Out-of-state tuition
$11,965
$28,600
Application fee
$25
$65
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$22,869
$8,945
$30k - $48k
$22,516
$9,217
$48k - $75k
$26,236
$14,794
$75k - $110k
$26,388
$18,573
Over $110k
$27,576
$21,313
Outcomes
Graduation rate
41%
70%
Freshman retention
62%
87%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$30,530
$45,336
Median earnings (10 yr)
$39,060
$50,994
Median debt at graduation
$30,470
$20,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
72%
22%
First-generation students
32%
24%
International students
2%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jul 15
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Jackson State University or University of Mississippi harder to get into?
Jackson State University is harder to get into. It admits about 93% of applicants, compared with 97% at University of Mississippi. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Jackson State University or University of Mississippi?
University of Mississippi is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,314 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $23,836 at Jackson State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Jackson State University and University of Mississippi?
Before aid, University of Mississippi costs about $28,660 a year and Jackson State University about $32,415. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Jackson State University or University of Mississippi?
University of Mississippi. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,945 there, against about $22,869 at Jackson State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Jackson State University or University of Mississippi?
University of Mississippi is the larger of the two, with about 21,473 undergraduates against 4,600 at Jackson State University.
Does Jackson State University or University of Mississippi have a better graduation rate?
University of Mississippi has the higher graduation rate, at about 70% against 41% at Jackson State University.
Do graduates of Jackson State University or University of Mississippi earn more?
University of Mississippi alumni earn more on average: a median of about $50,994 ten years after enrolling, against about $39,060 for Jackson State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Jackson State University and University of Mississippi require SAT or ACT scores?
Jackson State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Mississippi is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Jackson State University and University of Mississippi look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 820–1070 at Jackson State University and 1000–1200 at University of Mississippi. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school