Skip to content

Jacksonville State University vs University of South Alabama

Jacksonville State University is a public university in Jacksonville, AL, and University of South Alabama is a public university in Mobile, AL. University of South Alabama is the more selective of the two, admitting about 71% of applicants against 78% at Jacksonville State University. Jacksonville State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,279 a year against $17,648 at University of South Alabama. About 53% of students graduate at both. Ten years after enrolling, University of South Alabama alumni earn a median of about $49,379, against $45,235 for Jacksonville State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Jacksonville State University

Jacksonville, AL · Public

University of South Alabama

Mobile, AL · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Jacksonville, AL
Mobile, AL
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
7,036
8,879
Acceptance rate
78%
71%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.4–3.9
3.37–3.87
SAT (middle 50%)
1000–1290
970–1190
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
20–26
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,279
$17,648
Full cost / yr
$24,257
$25,476
In-state tuition
$12,894
$10,116
Out-of-state tuition
$23,334
$19,092
Application fee
$35
$35
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,472
$12,657
$30k - $48k
$12,622
$13,265
$48k - $75k
$15,343
$16,277
$75k - $110k
$17,480
$23,252
Over $110k
$18,183
$25,322
Outcomes
Graduation rate
53%
53%
Freshman retention
65%
76%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,158
$41,307
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,235
$49,379
Median debt at graduation
$22,189
$24,929
Student body
Pell grant recipients
43%
38%
First-generation students
36%
33%
International students
4%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Jacksonville State University or University of South Alabama harder to get into?
University of South Alabama is harder to get into. It admits about 71% of applicants, compared with 78% at Jacksonville State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Jacksonville State University or University of South Alabama?
Jacksonville State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,279 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,648 at University of South Alabama. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Jacksonville State University and University of South Alabama?
Before aid, Jacksonville State University costs about $24,257 a year and University of South Alabama about $25,476. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Jacksonville State University or University of South Alabama?
Jacksonville State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,472 there, against about $12,657 at University of South Alabama. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Jacksonville State University or University of South Alabama?
University of South Alabama is the larger of the two, with about 8,879 undergraduates against 7,036 at Jacksonville State University.
Does Jacksonville State University or University of South Alabama have a better graduation rate?
Both graduate about 53% of their students.
Do graduates of Jacksonville State University or University of South Alabama earn more?
University of South Alabama alumni earn more on average: a median of about $49,379 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,235 for Jacksonville State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Jacksonville State University and University of South Alabama require SAT or ACT scores?
Jacksonville State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of South Alabama is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Jacksonville State University and University of South Alabama look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1000–1290 at Jacksonville State University and 970–1190 at University of South Alabama. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school