Skip to content

Jacksonville University vs University of Florida-Online

Jacksonville University is a private university in Jacksonville, FL, and University of Florida-Online is a public university in Gainesville, FL. Jacksonville University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 57% of applicants against 61% at University of Florida-Online. University of Florida-Online is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $4,815 a year against $25,180 at Jacksonville University. About 81% of students graduate at University of Florida-Online, compared with 54% at Jacksonville University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Florida-Online alumni earn a median of about $71,588, against $68,010 for Jacksonville University.

Jacksonville University

Jacksonville, FL · Private

University of Florida-Online

Gainesville, FL · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Jacksonville, FL
Gainesville, FL
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
2,930
4,627
Acceptance rate
57%
61%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.46–3.96
3.55–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1100–1280
1250–1410
ACT (middle 50%)
22–27
27–31
Test policy
Considered
Required
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$25,180
$4,815
Full cost / yr
$63,969
$17,843
In-state tuition
$47,830
$3,876
Out-of-state tuition
$47,830
$16,579
Application fee
$30
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$21,893
$1,477
$30k - $48k
$19,733
$2,286
$48k - $75k
$23,974
$5,171
$75k - $110k
$27,936
$8,947
Over $110k
$29,653
$12,923
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
81%
Freshman retention
75%
95%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$61,991
$56,398
Median earnings (10 yr)
$68,010
$71,588
Median debt at graduation
$22,000
$15,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
31%
22%
First-generation students
36%
31%
International students
4%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Jacksonville University or University of Florida-Online harder to get into?
Jacksonville University is harder to get into. It admits about 57% of applicants, compared with 61% at University of Florida-Online. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Jacksonville University or University of Florida-Online?
University of Florida-Online is cheaper on average. Students pay about $4,815 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,180 at Jacksonville University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Jacksonville University and University of Florida-Online?
Before aid, University of Florida-Online costs about $17,843 a year and Jacksonville University about $63,969. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Jacksonville University or University of Florida-Online?
University of Florida-Online. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $1,477 there, against about $21,893 at Jacksonville University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Jacksonville University or University of Florida-Online?
University of Florida-Online is the larger of the two, with about 4,627 undergraduates against 2,930 at Jacksonville University.
Does Jacksonville University or University of Florida-Online have a better graduation rate?
University of Florida-Online has the higher graduation rate, at about 81% against 54% at Jacksonville University.
Do graduates of Jacksonville University or University of Florida-Online earn more?
University of Florida-Online alumni earn more on average: a median of about $71,588 ten years after enrolling, against about $68,010 for Jacksonville University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Jacksonville University and University of Florida-Online require SAT or ACT scores?
Jacksonville University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. University of Florida-Online requires SAT or ACT scores.
What SAT scores do Jacksonville University and University of Florida-Online look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1100–1280 at Jacksonville University and 1250–1410 at University of Florida-Online. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school