Skip to content

John Brown University vs Ouachita Baptist University

John Brown University is a private university in Siloam Springs, AR. Ouachita Baptist University is a private university in Arkadelphia, AR. Ouachita Baptist University admits about 68% of applicants and John Brown University about 76%, making Ouachita Baptist University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $20,397 a year at John Brown University after aid, and about $22,409 at Ouachita Baptist University. About 69% of students graduate at John Brown University, compared with 66% at Ouachita Baptist University. Ten years after enrolling, John Brown University alumni earn a median of about $53,907, against $51,673 for Ouachita Baptist University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

John Brown University

Siloam Springs, AR · Private

Ouachita Baptist University

Arkadelphia, AR · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Siloam Springs, AR
Arkadelphia, AR
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,471
1,602
Acceptance rate
76%
68%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.45–3.95
3.44–3.94
SAT (middle 50%)
1070–1340
1070–1280
ACT (middle 50%)
21–28
22–28
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,397
$22,409
Full cost / yr
$44,710
$47,321
In-state tuition
$31,756
$34,500
Out-of-state tuition
$31,756
$34,500
Application fee
$25
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$17,484
$15,207
$30k - $48k
$17,210
$15,954
$48k - $75k
$16,655
$18,007
$75k - $110k
$21,433
$19,151
Over $110k
$24,627
$26,281
Outcomes
Graduation rate
69%
66%
Freshman retention
81%
83%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,114
$41,697
Median earnings (10 yr)
$53,907
$51,673
Median debt at graduation
$21,250
$21,050
Student body
Pell grant recipients
24%
23%
First-generation students
29%
24%
International students
10%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jul 31

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is John Brown University or Ouachita Baptist University harder to get into?
Ouachita Baptist University is harder to get into. It admits about 68% of applicants, compared with 76% at John Brown University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, John Brown University or Ouachita Baptist University?
John Brown University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $20,397 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,409 at Ouachita Baptist University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at John Brown University and Ouachita Baptist University?
Before aid, John Brown University costs about $44,710 a year and Ouachita Baptist University about $47,321. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, John Brown University or Ouachita Baptist University?
Ouachita Baptist University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $15,207 there, against about $17,484 at John Brown University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, John Brown University or Ouachita Baptist University?
Ouachita Baptist University is the larger of the two, with about 1,602 undergraduates against 1,471 at John Brown University.
Does John Brown University or Ouachita Baptist University have a better graduation rate?
John Brown University has the higher graduation rate, at about 69% against 66% at Ouachita Baptist University.
Do graduates of John Brown University or Ouachita Baptist University earn more?
John Brown University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $53,907 ten years after enrolling, against about $51,673 for Ouachita Baptist University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do John Brown University and Ouachita Baptist University require SAT or ACT scores?
John Brown University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Ouachita Baptist University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do John Brown University and Ouachita Baptist University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1070–1340 at John Brown University and 1070–1280 at Ouachita Baptist University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school