Skip to content

John Brown University vs University of Arkansas Grantham

John Brown University is a private university in Siloam Springs, AR, and University of Arkansas Grantham is a public university in LIttle Rock, AR. John Brown University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 76% of applicants against 100% at University of Arkansas Grantham. University of Arkansas Grantham is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $8,370 a year against $20,397 at John Brown University. About 69% of students graduate at John Brown University, compared with 32% at University of Arkansas Grantham. Ten years after enrolling, University of Arkansas Grantham alumni earn a median of about $63,496, against $53,907 for John Brown University.

John Brown University

Siloam Springs, AR · Private

University of Arkansas Grantham

LIttle Rock, AR · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Siloam Springs, AR
LIttle Rock, AR
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,471
2,833
Acceptance rate
76%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.45–3.95
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
1070–1340
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
21–28
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,397
$8,370
Full cost / yr
$44,710
$15,318
In-state tuition
$31,756
$8,520
Out-of-state tuition
$31,756
$8,520
Application fee
$25
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$17,484
$8,384
$30k - $48k
$17,210
$7,973
$48k - $75k
$16,655
$9,938
$75k - $110k
$21,433
Not reported
Over $110k
$24,627
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
69%
32%
Freshman retention
81%
30%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,114
$26,870
Median earnings (10 yr)
$53,907
$63,496
Median debt at graduation
$21,250
$21,956
Student body
Pell grant recipients
24%
72%
First-generation students
29%
59%
International students
10%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is John Brown University or University of Arkansas Grantham harder to get into?
John Brown University is harder to get into. It admits about 76% of applicants, compared with 100% at University of Arkansas Grantham. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, John Brown University or University of Arkansas Grantham?
University of Arkansas Grantham is cheaper on average. Students pay about $8,370 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,397 at John Brown University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at John Brown University and University of Arkansas Grantham?
Before aid, University of Arkansas Grantham costs about $15,318 a year and John Brown University about $44,710. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, John Brown University or University of Arkansas Grantham?
University of Arkansas Grantham. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,384 there, against about $17,484 at John Brown University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, John Brown University or University of Arkansas Grantham?
University of Arkansas Grantham is the larger of the two, with about 2,833 undergraduates against 1,471 at John Brown University.
Does John Brown University or University of Arkansas Grantham have a better graduation rate?
John Brown University has the higher graduation rate, at about 69% against 32% at University of Arkansas Grantham.
Do graduates of John Brown University or University of Arkansas Grantham earn more?
University of Arkansas Grantham alumni earn more on average: a median of about $63,496 ten years after enrolling, against about $53,907 for John Brown University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do John Brown University and University of Arkansas Grantham require SAT or ACT scores?
John Brown University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Arkansas Grantham is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school