Skip to content

Johnson C Smith University vs Mars Hill University

Johnson C Smith University is a private university in Charlotte, NC. Mars Hill University is a private university in Mars Hill, NC. Johnson C Smith University admits about 45% of applicants and Mars Hill University about 68%, making Johnson C Smith University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $19,910 a year at Mars Hill University after aid, and about $20,894 at Johnson C Smith University. About 43% of students graduate at Mars Hill University, compared with 34% at Johnson C Smith University. Ten years after enrolling, Mars Hill University alumni earn a median of about $44,781, against $42,680 for Johnson C Smith University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Johnson C Smith University

Charlotte, NC · Private

Mars Hill University

Mars Hill, NC · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Charlotte, NC
Mars Hill, NC
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
1,244
1,044
Acceptance rate
45%
68%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.2–3.9
3.38–3.88
SAT (middle 50%)
800–980
940–1130
ACT (middle 50%)
13–18
18–23
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,894
$19,910
Full cost / yr
$34,923
$50,099
In-state tuition
$21,300
$37,736
Out-of-state tuition
$21,300
$37,736
Application fee
$25
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,940
$17,021
$30k - $48k
$21,165
$17,020
$48k - $75k
$21,005
$20,628
$75k - $110k
$19,722
$21,637
Over $110k
$29,050
$21,972
Outcomes
Graduation rate
34%
43%
Freshman retention
71%
69%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$31,478
$35,680
Median earnings (10 yr)
$42,680
$44,781
Median debt at graduation
$30,000
$26,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
69%
46%
First-generation students
36%
34%
International students
2%
6%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Johnson C Smith University or Mars Hill University harder to get into?
Johnson C Smith University is harder to get into. It admits about 45% of applicants, compared with 68% at Mars Hill University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Johnson C Smith University or Mars Hill University?
Mars Hill University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $19,910 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,894 at Johnson C Smith University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Johnson C Smith University and Mars Hill University?
Before aid, Johnson C Smith University costs about $34,923 a year and Mars Hill University about $50,099. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Johnson C Smith University or Mars Hill University?
Mars Hill University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $17,021 there, against about $19,940 at Johnson C Smith University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Johnson C Smith University or Mars Hill University?
Johnson C Smith University is the larger of the two, with about 1,244 undergraduates against 1,044 at Mars Hill University.
Does Johnson C Smith University or Mars Hill University have a better graduation rate?
Mars Hill University has the higher graduation rate, at about 43% against 34% at Johnson C Smith University.
Do graduates of Johnson C Smith University or Mars Hill University earn more?
Mars Hill University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $44,781 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,680 for Johnson C Smith University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Johnson C Smith University and Mars Hill University require SAT or ACT scores?
Johnson C Smith University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Mars Hill University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Johnson C Smith University and Mars Hill University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 800–980 at Johnson C Smith University and 940–1130 at Mars Hill University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school