Skip to content

Johnson C Smith University vs North Carolina A & T State University

Johnson C Smith University is a private university in Charlotte, NC, and North Carolina A & T State University is a public university in Greensboro, NC. Johnson C Smith University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 45% of applicants against 50% at North Carolina A & T State University. North Carolina A & T State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $10,846 a year against $20,894 at Johnson C Smith University. About 56% of students graduate at North Carolina A & T State University, compared with 34% at Johnson C Smith University. Ten years after enrolling, North Carolina A & T State University alumni earn a median of about $44,440, against $42,680 for Johnson C Smith University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Johnson C Smith University

Charlotte, NC · Private

North Carolina A & T State University

Greensboro, NC · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Charlotte, NC
Greensboro, NC
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,244
12,182
Acceptance rate
45%
50%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.2–3.9
3.36–4
SAT (middle 50%)
800–980
1020–1190
ACT (middle 50%)
13–18
17–23
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,894
$10,846
Full cost / yr
$34,923
$20,427
In-state tuition
$21,300
$6,813
Out-of-state tuition
$21,300
$20,673
Application fee
$25
$60
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,940
$8,223
$30k - $48k
$21,165
$9,462
$48k - $75k
$21,005
$11,973
$75k - $110k
$19,722
$16,454
Over $110k
$29,050
$17,311
Outcomes
Graduation rate
34%
56%
Freshman retention
71%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$31,478
$36,638
Median earnings (10 yr)
$42,680
$44,440
Median debt at graduation
$30,000
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
69%
52%
First-generation students
36%
28%
International students
2%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jun 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Johnson C Smith University or North Carolina A & T State University harder to get into?
Johnson C Smith University is harder to get into. It admits about 45% of applicants, compared with 50% at North Carolina A & T State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Johnson C Smith University or North Carolina A & T State University?
North Carolina A & T State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $10,846 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,894 at Johnson C Smith University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Johnson C Smith University and North Carolina A & T State University?
Before aid, North Carolina A & T State University costs about $20,427 a year and Johnson C Smith University about $34,923. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Johnson C Smith University or North Carolina A & T State University?
North Carolina A & T State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,223 there, against about $19,940 at Johnson C Smith University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Johnson C Smith University or North Carolina A & T State University?
North Carolina A & T State University is the larger of the two, with about 12,182 undergraduates against 1,244 at Johnson C Smith University.
Does Johnson C Smith University or North Carolina A & T State University have a better graduation rate?
North Carolina A & T State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 56% against 34% at Johnson C Smith University.
Do graduates of Johnson C Smith University or North Carolina A & T State University earn more?
North Carolina A & T State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $44,440 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,680 for Johnson C Smith University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Johnson C Smith University and North Carolina A & T State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Johnson C Smith University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. North Carolina A & T State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Johnson C Smith University and North Carolina A & T State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 800–980 at Johnson C Smith University and 1020–1190 at North Carolina A & T State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school