Skip to content

Kansas State University vs Ottawa University-Ottawa

Kansas State University is a public university in Manhattan, KS, and Ottawa University-Ottawa is a private university in Ottawa, KS. Kansas State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 82% of applicants against 83% at Ottawa University-Ottawa. Kansas State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $19,406 a year against $27,963 at Ottawa University-Ottawa. About 71% of students graduate at Kansas State University, compared with 28% at Ottawa University-Ottawa. Ten years after enrolling, Kansas State University alumni earn a median of about $57,262, against $55,552 for Ottawa University-Ottawa.

Kansas State University

Manhattan, KS · Public

Ottawa University-Ottawa

Ottawa, KS · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Manhattan, KS
Ottawa, KS
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
15,142
870
Acceptance rate
82%
83%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.39–3.89
3.22–3.72
SAT (middle 50%)
1060–1260
750–1000
ACT (middle 50%)
20–27
16–22
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$19,406
$27,963
Full cost / yr
$27,402
$51,856
In-state tuition
$11,221
$35,880
Out-of-state tuition
$28,568
$35,880
Application fee
$40
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$13,178
$22,449
$30k - $48k
$14,143
$22,912
$48k - $75k
$15,369
$25,525
$75k - $110k
$20,110
$30,199
Over $110k
$23,665
$30,771
Outcomes
Graduation rate
71%
28%
Freshman retention
86%
58%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$49,330
$49,139
Median earnings (10 yr)
$57,262
$55,552
Median debt at graduation
$21,250
$21,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
21%
37%
First-generation students
22%
40%
International students
2%
6%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Kansas State University or Ottawa University-Ottawa harder to get into?
Kansas State University is harder to get into. It admits about 82% of applicants, compared with 83% at Ottawa University-Ottawa. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Kansas State University or Ottawa University-Ottawa?
Kansas State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $19,406 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $27,963 at Ottawa University-Ottawa. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Kansas State University and Ottawa University-Ottawa?
Before aid, Kansas State University costs about $27,402 a year and Ottawa University-Ottawa about $51,856. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Kansas State University or Ottawa University-Ottawa?
Kansas State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,178 there, against about $22,449 at Ottawa University-Ottawa. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Kansas State University or Ottawa University-Ottawa?
Kansas State University is the larger of the two, with about 15,142 undergraduates against 870 at Ottawa University-Ottawa.
Does Kansas State University or Ottawa University-Ottawa have a better graduation rate?
Kansas State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 71% against 28% at Ottawa University-Ottawa.
Do graduates of Kansas State University or Ottawa University-Ottawa earn more?
Kansas State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $57,262 ten years after enrolling, against about $55,552 for Ottawa University-Ottawa. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Kansas State University and Ottawa University-Ottawa require SAT or ACT scores?
Kansas State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Ottawa University-Ottawa considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Kansas State University and Ottawa University-Ottawa look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1060–1260 at Kansas State University and 750–1000 at Ottawa University-Ottawa. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school