Skip to content

Kent State University at Kent vs Ohio University-Eastern Campus

Kent State University at Kent is a public university in Kent, OH. Ohio University-Eastern Campus is a public university in Saint Clairsville, OH. Kent State University at Kent admits about 86% of applicants and Ohio University-Eastern Campus about 89%, making Kent State University at Kent the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $3,925 a year at Ohio University-Eastern Campus after aid, and about $20,787 at Kent State University at Kent. About 65% of students graduate at Kent State University at Kent, compared with 20% at Ohio University-Eastern Campus. Ten years after enrolling, Ohio University-Eastern Campus alumni earn a median of about $52,581, against $45,388 for Kent State University at Kent.

Kent State University at Kent

Kent, OH · Public

Ohio University-Eastern Campus

Saint Clairsville, OH · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Kent, OH
Saint Clairsville, OH
Setting
Suburban
Rural
Undergraduates
19,320
298
Acceptance rate
86%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.35–3.85
3.37–3.87
SAT (middle 50%)
1010–1240
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
18–25
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Not reported
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,787
$3,925
Full cost / yr
$30,567
$10,777
In-state tuition
$13,232
$6,362
Out-of-state tuition
$23,082
$9,444
Application fee
$50
$20
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$15,280
$1,691
$30k - $48k
$15,718
$2,178
$48k - $75k
$17,296
$4,438
$75k - $110k
$23,685
$5,927
Over $110k
$26,278
$7,490
Outcomes
Graduation rate
65%
20%
Freshman retention
81%
63%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,179
$48,991
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,388
$52,581
Median debt at graduation
$24,500
$21,056
Student body
Pell grant recipients
29%
10%
First-generation students
36%
34%
International students
4%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Dec 1
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Kent State University at Kent or Ohio University-Eastern Campus harder to get into?
Kent State University at Kent is harder to get into. It admits about 86% of applicants, compared with 89% at Ohio University-Eastern Campus. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Kent State University at Kent or Ohio University-Eastern Campus?
Ohio University-Eastern Campus is cheaper on average. Students pay about $3,925 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,787 at Kent State University at Kent. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Kent State University at Kent and Ohio University-Eastern Campus?
Before aid, Ohio University-Eastern Campus costs about $10,777 a year and Kent State University at Kent about $30,567. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Kent State University at Kent or Ohio University-Eastern Campus?
Ohio University-Eastern Campus. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $1,691 there, against about $15,280 at Kent State University at Kent. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Kent State University at Kent or Ohio University-Eastern Campus?
Kent State University at Kent is the larger of the two, with about 19,320 undergraduates against 298 at Ohio University-Eastern Campus.
Does Kent State University at Kent or Ohio University-Eastern Campus have a better graduation rate?
Kent State University at Kent has the higher graduation rate, at about 65% against 20% at Ohio University-Eastern Campus.
Do graduates of Kent State University at Kent or Ohio University-Eastern Campus earn more?
Ohio University-Eastern Campus alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,581 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,388 for Kent State University at Kent. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school