Skip to content

Kentucky Christian University vs Northern Kentucky University

Kentucky Christian University is a private university in Grayson, KY. Northern Kentucky University is a public university in Highland Heights, KY. Kentucky Christian University admits about 61% of applicants and Northern Kentucky University about 68%, making Kentucky Christian University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $8,191 a year at Northern Kentucky University after aid, and about $24,038 at Kentucky Christian University. About 50% of students graduate at Northern Kentucky University, compared with 35% at Kentucky Christian University. Ten years after enrolling, Northern Kentucky University alumni earn a median of about $50,220, against $42,375 for Kentucky Christian University.

Kentucky Christian University

Grayson, KY · Private

Northern Kentucky University

Highland Heights, KY · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Grayson, KY
Highland Heights, KY
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
429
8,246
Acceptance rate
61%
68%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.34–3.84
3.38–3.88
SAT (middle 50%)
900–1040
953–1150
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
18–25
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$24,038
$8,191
Full cost / yr
$40,168
$19,725
In-state tuition
$26,625
$11,088
Out-of-state tuition
$26,625
$21,912
Application fee
Not reported
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$23,241
$2,603
$30k - $48k
$24,618
$3,630
$48k - $75k
$24,031
$6,761
$75k - $110k
$24,420
$12,679
Over $110k
$24,116
$14,522
Outcomes
Graduation rate
35%
50%
Freshman retention
86%
76%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,921
$42,105
Median earnings (10 yr)
$42,375
$50,220
Median debt at graduation
$22,250
$23,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
43%
25%
First-generation students
30%
38%
International students
3%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Kentucky Christian University or Northern Kentucky University harder to get into?
Kentucky Christian University is harder to get into. It admits about 61% of applicants, compared with 68% at Northern Kentucky University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Kentucky Christian University or Northern Kentucky University?
Northern Kentucky University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $8,191 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,038 at Kentucky Christian University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Kentucky Christian University and Northern Kentucky University?
Before aid, Northern Kentucky University costs about $19,725 a year and Kentucky Christian University about $40,168. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Kentucky Christian University or Northern Kentucky University?
Northern Kentucky University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $2,603 there, against about $23,241 at Kentucky Christian University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Kentucky Christian University or Northern Kentucky University?
Northern Kentucky University is the larger of the two, with about 8,246 undergraduates against 429 at Kentucky Christian University.
Does Kentucky Christian University or Northern Kentucky University have a better graduation rate?
Northern Kentucky University has the higher graduation rate, at about 50% against 35% at Kentucky Christian University.
Do graduates of Kentucky Christian University or Northern Kentucky University earn more?
Northern Kentucky University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $50,220 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,375 for Kentucky Christian University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Kentucky Christian University and Northern Kentucky University require SAT or ACT scores?
Kentucky Christian University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Northern Kentucky University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Kentucky Christian University and Northern Kentucky University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 900–1040 at Kentucky Christian University and 953–1150 at Northern Kentucky University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school