Skip to content

King University vs The University of Tennessee-Martin

King University is a private university in Bristol, TN, and The University of Tennessee-Martin is a public university in Martin, TN. The University of Tennessee-Martin is the more selective of the two, admitting about 88% of applicants against 100% at King University. The University of Tennessee-Martin is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $10,701 a year against $22,347 at King University. About 54% of students graduate at The University of Tennessee-Martin, compared with 47% at King University. Ten years after enrolling, King University alumni earn a median of about $59,831, against $44,213 for The University of Tennessee-Martin.

King University

Bristol, TN · Private

The University of Tennessee-Martin

Martin, TN · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Bristol, TN
Martin, TN
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
908
4,866
Acceptance rate
100%
88%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.25–3.75
SAT (middle 50%)
1000–1160
970–1210
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
19–25
Test policy
Test optional
Required
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,347
$10,701
Full cost / yr
$49,004
$23,079
In-state tuition
$36,194
$10,560
Out-of-state tuition
$36,194
$16,600
Application fee
Not reported
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$22,696
$7,151
$30k - $48k
$17,677
$8,961
$48k - $75k
$18,035
$11,640
$75k - $110k
$21,188
$15,343
Over $110k
$27,219
$15,827
Outcomes
Graduation rate
47%
54%
Freshman retention
60%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$52,248
$38,863
Median earnings (10 yr)
$59,831
$44,213
Median debt at graduation
$22,750
$21,024
Student body
Pell grant recipients
42%
34%
First-generation students
51%
39%
International students
6%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is King University or The University of Tennessee-Martin harder to get into?
The University of Tennessee-Martin is harder to get into. It admits about 88% of applicants, compared with 100% at King University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, King University or The University of Tennessee-Martin?
The University of Tennessee-Martin is cheaper on average. Students pay about $10,701 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,347 at King University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at King University and The University of Tennessee-Martin?
Before aid, The University of Tennessee-Martin costs about $23,079 a year and King University about $49,004. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, King University or The University of Tennessee-Martin?
The University of Tennessee-Martin. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,151 there, against about $22,696 at King University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, King University or The University of Tennessee-Martin?
The University of Tennessee-Martin is the larger of the two, with about 4,866 undergraduates against 908 at King University.
Does King University or The University of Tennessee-Martin have a better graduation rate?
The University of Tennessee-Martin has the higher graduation rate, at about 54% against 47% at King University.
Do graduates of King University or The University of Tennessee-Martin earn more?
King University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $59,831 ten years after enrolling, against about $44,213 for The University of Tennessee-Martin. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do King University and The University of Tennessee-Martin require SAT or ACT scores?
King University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. The University of Tennessee-Martin requires SAT or ACT scores.
What SAT scores do King University and The University of Tennessee-Martin look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1000–1160 at King University and 970–1210 at The University of Tennessee-Martin. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school