Skip to content

Lake Erie College vs Walsh University

Lake Erie College is a private college in Painesville, OH. Walsh University is a private university in North Canton, OH. Lake Erie College admits about 70% of applicants and Walsh University about 71%, making Lake Erie College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $20,493 a year at Walsh University after aid, and about $20,961 at Lake Erie College. About 60% of students graduate at Walsh University, compared with 40% at Lake Erie College. Ten years after enrolling, Walsh University alumni earn a median of about $59,764, against $50,417 for Lake Erie College.

Lake Erie College

Painesville, OH · Private

Walsh University

North Canton, OH · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Painesville, OH
North Canton, OH
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
852
1,390
Acceptance rate
70%
71%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.37–3.87
3.43–3.93
SAT (middle 50%)
945–1115
1040–1280
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
20–27
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,961
$20,493
Full cost / yr
$50,790
$47,575
In-state tuition
$37,634
$35,745
Out-of-state tuition
$37,634
$35,745
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$20,195
$20,458
$30k - $48k
$19,575
$17,849
$48k - $75k
$18,548
$18,642
$75k - $110k
$23,205
$22,737
Over $110k
$22,370
$20,373
Outcomes
Graduation rate
40%
60%
Freshman retention
59%
72%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,959
$50,090
Median earnings (10 yr)
$50,417
$59,764
Median debt at graduation
$26,000
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
37%
27%
First-generation students
33%
34%
International students
3%
9%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Nov 20
Dec 1
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Lake Erie College or Walsh University harder to get into?
Lake Erie College is harder to get into. It admits about 70% of applicants, compared with 71% at Walsh University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Lake Erie College or Walsh University?
Walsh University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $20,493 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,961 at Lake Erie College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Lake Erie College and Walsh University?
Before aid, Walsh University costs about $47,575 a year and Lake Erie College about $50,790. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Lake Erie College or Walsh University?
Lake Erie College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $20,195 there, against about $20,458 at Walsh University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Lake Erie College or Walsh University?
Walsh University is the larger of the two, with about 1,390 undergraduates against 852 at Lake Erie College.
Does Lake Erie College or Walsh University have a better graduation rate?
Walsh University has the higher graduation rate, at about 60% against 40% at Lake Erie College.
Do graduates of Lake Erie College or Walsh University earn more?
Walsh University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $59,764 ten years after enrolling, against about $50,417 for Lake Erie College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Lake Erie College and Walsh University require SAT or ACT scores?
Lake Erie College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Walsh University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Lake Erie College and Walsh University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 945–1115 at Lake Erie College and 1040–1280 at Walsh University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school