Skip to content

Lake Superior State University vs Northwood University

Lake Superior State University is a public university in Sault Ste Marie, MI. Northwood University is a private university in Midland, MI. Northwood University admits about 65% of applicants and Lake Superior State University about 68%, making Northwood University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $12,822 a year at Lake Superior State University after aid, and about $27,232 at Northwood University. About 62% of students graduate at Northwood University, compared with 54% at Lake Superior State University. Ten years after enrolling, Northwood University alumni earn a median of about $63,075, against $49,045 for Lake Superior State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Lake Superior State University

Sault Ste Marie, MI · Public

Northwood University

Midland, MI · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Sault Ste Marie, MI
Midland, MI
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,325
1,974
Acceptance rate
68%
65%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.44–3.94
3.39–3.89
SAT (middle 50%)
1000–1225
950–1160
ACT (middle 50%)
19–26
17–23
Test policy
Test blind
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$12,822
$27,232
Full cost / yr
$27,154
$48,780
In-state tuition
$14,890
$34,400
Out-of-state tuition
$14,890
$34,400
Application fee
Not reported
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$3,516
$25,700
$30k - $48k
$9,226
$25,913
$48k - $75k
$10,422
$25,906
$75k - $110k
$14,541
$26,016
Over $110k
$20,321
$28,224
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
62%
Freshman retention
79%
79%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$42,767
$54,058
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,045
$63,075
Median debt at graduation
$23,250
$20,842
Student body
Pell grant recipients
27%
26%
First-generation students
33%
40%
International students
8%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Lake Superior State University or Northwood University harder to get into?
Northwood University is harder to get into. It admits about 65% of applicants, compared with 68% at Lake Superior State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Lake Superior State University or Northwood University?
Lake Superior State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $12,822 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $27,232 at Northwood University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Lake Superior State University and Northwood University?
Before aid, Lake Superior State University costs about $27,154 a year and Northwood University about $48,780. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Lake Superior State University or Northwood University?
Lake Superior State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $3,516 there, against about $25,700 at Northwood University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Lake Superior State University or Northwood University?
Northwood University is the larger of the two, with about 1,974 undergraduates against 1,325 at Lake Superior State University.
Does Lake Superior State University or Northwood University have a better graduation rate?
Northwood University has the higher graduation rate, at about 62% against 54% at Lake Superior State University.
Do graduates of Lake Superior State University or Northwood University earn more?
Northwood University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $63,075 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,045 for Lake Superior State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Lake Superior State University and Northwood University require SAT or ACT scores?
Lake Superior State University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. Northwood University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Lake Superior State University and Northwood University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1000–1225 at Lake Superior State University and 950–1160 at Northwood University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school