Skip to content

Lake Superior State University vs University of Michigan-Flint

What would these two cost your family?

Your family’s income

Pick one to see what families like yours paid at each. Source: College Scorecard.

Lake Superior State University is a public university in Sault Ste Marie, MI. University of Michigan-Flint is a public university in Flint, MI. Lake Superior State University admits about 68% of applicants and University of Michigan-Flint about 70%, making Lake Superior State University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $7,007 a year at University of Michigan-Flint after aid, and about $12,822 at Lake Superior State University. About 54% of students graduate at Lake Superior State University, compared with 42% at University of Michigan-Flint. Ten years after enrolling, University of Michigan-Flint alumni earn a median of about $53,230, against $49,045 for Lake Superior State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Lake Superior State University

Sault Ste Marie, MI · Public

University of Michigan-Flint

Flint, MI · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Sault Ste Marie, MI
Flint, MI
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,325
4,411
Acceptance rate
68%
70%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.44–3.94
3.43–3.93
SAT (middle 50%)
1000–1225
970–1243
ACT (middle 50%)
19–26
19–24
Test policy
Test blind
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$12,822
$7,007
Full cost / yr
$27,154
$20,915
In-state tuition
$14,890
$14,704
Out-of-state tuition
$14,890
$28,320
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$3,516
$1,517
$30k - $48k
$9,226
$2,386
$48k - $75k
$10,422
$3,752
$75k - $110k
$14,541
$9,167
Over $110k
$20,321
$12,333
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
42%
Freshman retention
79%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$42,767
$45,453
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,045
$53,230
Median debt at graduation
$23,250
$25,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
27%
39%
First-generation students
33%
37%
International students
8%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Lake Superior State University or University of Michigan-Flint harder to get into?
Lake Superior State University is harder to get into. It admits about 68% of applicants, compared with 70% at University of Michigan-Flint. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Lake Superior State University or University of Michigan-Flint?
University of Michigan-Flint is cheaper on average. Students pay about $7,007 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $12,822 at Lake Superior State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Lake Superior State University and University of Michigan-Flint?
Before aid, University of Michigan-Flint costs about $20,915 a year and Lake Superior State University about $27,154. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Lake Superior State University or University of Michigan-Flint?
University of Michigan-Flint. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $1,517 there, against about $3,516 at Lake Superior State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Lake Superior State University or University of Michigan-Flint?
University of Michigan-Flint is the larger of the two, with about 4,411 undergraduates against 1,325 at Lake Superior State University.
Does Lake Superior State University or University of Michigan-Flint have a better graduation rate?
Lake Superior State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 54% against 42% at University of Michigan-Flint.
Do graduates of Lake Superior State University or University of Michigan-Flint earn more?
University of Michigan-Flint alumni earn more on average: a median of about $53,230 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,045 for Lake Superior State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Lake Superior State University and University of Michigan-Flint require SAT or ACT scores?
Lake Superior State University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. University of Michigan-Flint considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Lake Superior State University and University of Michigan-Flint look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1000–1225 at Lake Superior State University and 970–1243 at University of Michigan-Flint. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school