Skip to content

Lakeland University vs University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Lakeland University is a private university in Plymouth, WI, and University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is a public university in Eau Claire, WI. University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is the more selective of the two, admitting about 82% of applicants against 86% at Lakeland University. University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $16,550 a year against $24,212 at Lakeland University. About 66% of students graduate at University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, compared with 48% at Lakeland University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire alumni earn a median of about $58,561, against $55,961 for Lakeland University.

Lakeland University

Plymouth, WI · Private

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Eau Claire, WI · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Plymouth, WI
Eau Claire, WI
Setting
Rural
Urban
Undergraduates
1,212
8,895
Acceptance rate
86%
82%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.23–3.73
3.48–3.98
SAT (middle 50%)
905–1060
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
17–22
22–27
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$24,212
$16,550
Full cost / yr
$48,840
$21,705
In-state tuition
$33,396
$9,642
Out-of-state tuition
$33,396
$19,228
Application fee
$35
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$22,453
$10,270
$30k - $48k
$22,030
$10,968
$48k - $75k
$20,124
$12,766
$75k - $110k
$24,332
$18,278
Over $110k
$28,054
$20,778
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
66%
Freshman retention
63%
82%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$49,546
$50,011
Median earnings (10 yr)
$55,961
$58,561
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$20,909
Student body
Pell grant recipients
25%
20%
First-generation students
44%
22%
International students
1%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Feb 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Lakeland University or University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire harder to get into?
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is harder to get into. It admits about 82% of applicants, compared with 86% at Lakeland University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Lakeland University or University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire?
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is cheaper on average. Students pay about $16,550 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,212 at Lakeland University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Lakeland University and University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire?
Before aid, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire costs about $21,705 a year and Lakeland University about $48,840. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Lakeland University or University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire?
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,270 there, against about $22,453 at Lakeland University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Lakeland University or University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire?
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is the larger of the two, with about 8,895 undergraduates against 1,212 at Lakeland University.
Does Lakeland University or University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire have a better graduation rate?
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire has the higher graduation rate, at about 66% against 48% at Lakeland University.
Do graduates of Lakeland University or University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire earn more?
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire alumni earn more on average: a median of about $58,561 ten years after enrolling, against about $55,961 for Lakeland University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Lakeland University and University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire require SAT or ACT scores?
Lakeland University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school