Skip to content

Lander University vs Winthrop University

Lander University is a public university in Greenwood, SC. Winthrop University is a public university in Rock Hill, SC. Winthrop University admits about 79% of applicants and Lander University about 81%, making Winthrop University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $15,343 a year at Winthrop University after aid, and about $15,363 at Lander University. About 59% of students graduate at Winthrop University, compared with 49% at Lander University. Ten years after enrolling, Winthrop University alumni earn a median of about $47,185, against $42,396 for Lander University.

Lander University

Greenwood, SC · Public

Winthrop University

Rock Hill, SC · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Greenwood, SC
Rock Hill, SC
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
3,397
3,523
Acceptance rate
81%
79%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.33–3.83
3.39–3.89
SAT (middle 50%)
950–1178
1010–1220
ACT (middle 50%)
16–23
20–27
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$15,363
$15,343
Full cost / yr
$27,277
$30,710
In-state tuition
$11,700
$14,678
Out-of-state tuition
$21,300
$28,676
Application fee
$0
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$11,450
$12,608
$30k - $48k
$11,778
$12,983
$48k - $75k
$13,842
$13,966
$75k - $110k
$18,319
$18,518
Over $110k
$19,102
$21,359
Outcomes
Graduation rate
49%
59%
Freshman retention
70%
74%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$36,851
$39,048
Median earnings (10 yr)
$42,396
$47,185
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$26,975
Student body
Pell grant recipients
39%
41%
First-generation students
32%
28%
International students
3%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Lander University or Winthrop University harder to get into?
Winthrop University is harder to get into. It admits about 79% of applicants, compared with 81% at Lander University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Lander University or Winthrop University?
Winthrop University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,343 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $15,363 at Lander University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Lander University and Winthrop University?
Before aid, Lander University costs about $27,277 a year and Winthrop University about $30,710. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Lander University or Winthrop University?
Lander University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,450 there, against about $12,608 at Winthrop University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Lander University or Winthrop University?
Winthrop University is the larger of the two, with about 3,523 undergraduates against 3,397 at Lander University.
Does Lander University or Winthrop University have a better graduation rate?
Winthrop University has the higher graduation rate, at about 59% against 49% at Lander University.
Do graduates of Lander University or Winthrop University earn more?
Winthrop University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $47,185 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,396 for Lander University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Lander University and Winthrop University require SAT or ACT scores?
Lander University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Winthrop University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Lander University and Winthrop University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 950–1178 at Lander University and 1010–1220 at Winthrop University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school