Skip to content

Lipscomb University vs Southern Adventist University

Lipscomb University is a private university in Nashville, TN. Southern Adventist University is a private university in Collegedale, TN. Southern Adventist University admits about 66% of applicants and Lipscomb University about 68%, making Southern Adventist University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $24,345 a year at Southern Adventist University after aid, and about $24,739 at Lipscomb University. About 70% of students graduate at Lipscomb University, compared with 50% at Southern Adventist University. Ten years after enrolling, Lipscomb University alumni earn a median of about $55,541, against $53,723 for Southern Adventist University.

Lipscomb University

Nashville, TN · Private

Southern Adventist University

Collegedale, TN · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Nashville, TN
Collegedale, TN
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
2,997
2,773
Acceptance rate
68%
66%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.48–3.98
3.44–3.94
SAT (middle 50%)
1160–1380
1020–1300
ACT (middle 50%)
23–30
19–25
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$24,739
$24,345
Full cost / yr
$55,117
$38,618
In-state tuition
$40,572
$27,300
Out-of-state tuition
$40,572
$27,300
Application fee
$50
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$20,048
$19,123
$30k - $48k
$20,009
$20,421
$48k - $75k
$24,124
$22,849
$75k - $110k
$25,210
$26,679
Over $110k
$31,265
$30,751
Outcomes
Graduation rate
70%
50%
Freshman retention
84%
83%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$50,454
$44,818
Median earnings (10 yr)
$55,541
$53,723
Median debt at graduation
$19,500
$24,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
24%
31%
First-generation students
24%
18%
International students
3%
8%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Lipscomb University or Southern Adventist University harder to get into?
Southern Adventist University is harder to get into. It admits about 66% of applicants, compared with 68% at Lipscomb University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Lipscomb University or Southern Adventist University?
Southern Adventist University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $24,345 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,739 at Lipscomb University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Lipscomb University and Southern Adventist University?
Before aid, Southern Adventist University costs about $38,618 a year and Lipscomb University about $55,117. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Lipscomb University or Southern Adventist University?
Southern Adventist University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $19,123 there, against about $20,048 at Lipscomb University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Lipscomb University or Southern Adventist University?
Lipscomb University is the larger of the two, with about 2,997 undergraduates against 2,773 at Southern Adventist University.
Does Lipscomb University or Southern Adventist University have a better graduation rate?
Lipscomb University has the higher graduation rate, at about 70% against 50% at Southern Adventist University.
Do graduates of Lipscomb University or Southern Adventist University earn more?
Lipscomb University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,541 ten years after enrolling, against about $53,723 for Southern Adventist University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Lipscomb University and Southern Adventist University require SAT or ACT scores?
Lipscomb University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Southern Adventist University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Lipscomb University and Southern Adventist University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1160–1380 at Lipscomb University and 1020–1300 at Southern Adventist University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school