Skip to content

Livingstone College vs St. Andrews University

Livingstone College is a private college in Salisbury, NC, and St. Andrews University is a private university in Laurinburg, NC. Livingstone College is the more selective of the two, admitting about 59% of applicants against 65% at St. Andrews University. Livingstone College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $13,479 a year against $32,513 at St. Andrews University. About 28% of students graduate at St. Andrews University, compared with 26% at Livingstone College. Ten years after enrolling, St. Andrews University alumni earn a median of about $45,606, against $32,600 for Livingstone College.

Livingstone College

Salisbury, NC · Private

St. Andrews University

Laurinburg, NC · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Salisbury, NC
Laurinburg, NC
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
924
628
Acceptance rate
59%
65%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.3–3.8
3.33–3.83
SAT (middle 50%)
800–960
778–1153
ACT (middle 50%)
14–21
15–24
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,479
$32,513
Full cost / yr
$28,305
$50,681
In-state tuition
$18,296
$32,388
Out-of-state tuition
$18,296
$32,388
Application fee
$25
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$13,860
$29,730
$30k - $48k
$14,056
$28,132
$48k - $75k
$11,028
$32,747
$75k - $110k
$14,558
$36,377
Over $110k
$16,018
$37,063
Outcomes
Graduation rate
26%
28%
Freshman retention
71%
48%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$24,024
$37,691
Median earnings (10 yr)
$32,600
$45,606
Median debt at graduation
$31,125
$25,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
82%
49%
First-generation students
39%
37%
International students
5%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Livingstone College or St. Andrews University harder to get into?
Livingstone College is harder to get into. It admits about 59% of applicants, compared with 65% at St. Andrews University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Livingstone College or St. Andrews University?
Livingstone College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,479 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $32,513 at St. Andrews University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Livingstone College and St. Andrews University?
Before aid, Livingstone College costs about $28,305 a year and St. Andrews University about $50,681. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Livingstone College or St. Andrews University?
Livingstone College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,860 there, against about $29,730 at St. Andrews University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Livingstone College or St. Andrews University?
Livingstone College is the larger of the two, with about 924 undergraduates against 628 at St. Andrews University.
Does Livingstone College or St. Andrews University have a better graduation rate?
St. Andrews University has the higher graduation rate, at about 28% against 26% at Livingstone College.
Do graduates of Livingstone College or St. Andrews University earn more?
St. Andrews University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $45,606 ten years after enrolling, against about $32,600 for Livingstone College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Livingstone College and St. Andrews University require SAT or ACT scores?
Livingstone College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. St. Andrews University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Livingstone College and St. Andrews University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 800–960 at Livingstone College and 778–1153 at St. Andrews University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school