Skip to content

Louisiana State University-Shreveport vs Nicholls State University

Louisiana State University-Shreveport is a public university in Shreveport, LA, and Nicholls State University is a public university in Thibodaux, LA. Louisiana State University-Shreveport is the more selective of the two, admitting about 51% of applicants against 91% at Nicholls State University. Louisiana State University-Shreveport is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $7,022 a year against $12,947 at Nicholls State University. About 54% of students graduate at Nicholls State University, compared with 35% at Louisiana State University-Shreveport. Ten years after enrolling, Louisiana State University-Shreveport alumni earn a median of about $47,477, against $45,454 for Nicholls State University.

Louisiana State University-Shreveport

Shreveport, LA · Public

Nicholls State University

Thibodaux, LA · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Shreveport, LA
Thibodaux, LA
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
2,153
4,737
Acceptance rate
51%
91%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.4–3.9
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
1000–1195
934–1196
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
19–24
Test policy
Considered
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$7,022
$12,947
Full cost / yr
$19,461
$23,481
In-state tuition
$7,518
$8,149
Out-of-state tuition
$7,518
$9,242
Application fee
$20
$20
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$5,680
$10,714
$30k - $48k
$4,836
$10,527
$48k - $75k
$5,969
$12,139
$75k - $110k
$10,359
$16,784
Over $110k
$15,599
$17,954
Outcomes
Graduation rate
35%
54%
Freshman retention
83%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,467
$38,829
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,477
$45,454
Median debt at graduation
$22,500
$22,675
Student body
Pell grant recipients
39%
34%
First-generation students
40%
46%
International students
5%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Louisiana State University-Shreveport or Nicholls State University harder to get into?
Louisiana State University-Shreveport is harder to get into. It admits about 51% of applicants, compared with 91% at Nicholls State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Louisiana State University-Shreveport or Nicholls State University?
Louisiana State University-Shreveport is cheaper on average. Students pay about $7,022 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $12,947 at Nicholls State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Louisiana State University-Shreveport and Nicholls State University?
Before aid, Louisiana State University-Shreveport costs about $19,461 a year and Nicholls State University about $23,481. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Louisiana State University-Shreveport or Nicholls State University?
Louisiana State University-Shreveport. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $5,680 there, against about $10,714 at Nicholls State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Louisiana State University-Shreveport or Nicholls State University?
Nicholls State University is the larger of the two, with about 4,737 undergraduates against 2,153 at Louisiana State University-Shreveport.
Does Louisiana State University-Shreveport or Nicholls State University have a better graduation rate?
Nicholls State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 54% against 35% at Louisiana State University-Shreveport.
Do graduates of Louisiana State University-Shreveport or Nicholls State University earn more?
Louisiana State University-Shreveport alumni earn more on average: a median of about $47,477 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,454 for Nicholls State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Louisiana State University-Shreveport and Nicholls State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Louisiana State University-Shreveport considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Nicholls State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Louisiana State University-Shreveport and Nicholls State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1000–1195 at Louisiana State University-Shreveport and 934–1196 at Nicholls State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school