Skip to content

Maine College of Art & Design vs Husson University

Maine College of Art & Design is a private college in Portland, ME. Husson University is a private university in Bangor, ME. Maine College of Art & Design admits about 76% of applicants and Husson University about 81%, making Maine College of Art & Design the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $21,005 a year at Husson University after aid, and about $38,338 at Maine College of Art & Design. About 58% of students graduate at Husson University, compared with 50% at Maine College of Art & Design. Ten years after enrolling, Husson University alumni earn a median of about $45,025, against $40,778 for Maine College of Art & Design.

Maine College of Art & Design

Portland, ME · Private

Husson University

Bangor, ME · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Portland, ME
Bangor, ME
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
415
2,618
Acceptance rate
76%
81%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.52–4
3.39–3.89
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
1065–1275
ACT (middle 50%)
17–23
19–25
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$38,338
$21,005
Full cost / yr
$60,128
$35,852
In-state tuition
$42,942
$23,304
Out-of-state tuition
$42,942
$23,304
Application fee
$40
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$31,589
$16,606
$30k - $48k
$33,075
$16,898
$48k - $75k
$35,283
$17,496
$75k - $110k
$40,992
$21,273
Over $110k
$42,001
$25,262
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
58%
Freshman retention
72%
75%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$24,333
$41,554
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,778
$45,025
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
29%
39%
First-generation students
24%
32%
International students
0%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 1
Not reported
Regular decision
Mar 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Maine College of Art & Design or Husson University harder to get into?
Maine College of Art & Design is harder to get into. It admits about 76% of applicants, compared with 81% at Husson University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Maine College of Art & Design or Husson University?
Husson University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $21,005 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $38,338 at Maine College of Art & Design. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Maine College of Art & Design and Husson University?
Before aid, Husson University costs about $35,852 a year and Maine College of Art & Design about $60,128. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Maine College of Art & Design or Husson University?
Husson University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,606 there, against about $31,589 at Maine College of Art & Design. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Maine College of Art & Design or Husson University?
Husson University is the larger of the two, with about 2,618 undergraduates against 415 at Maine College of Art & Design.
Does Maine College of Art & Design or Husson University have a better graduation rate?
Husson University has the higher graduation rate, at about 58% against 50% at Maine College of Art & Design.
Do graduates of Maine College of Art & Design or Husson University earn more?
Husson University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $45,025 ten years after enrolling, against about $40,778 for Maine College of Art & Design. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Maine College of Art & Design and Husson University require SAT or ACT scores?
Maine College of Art & Design is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Husson University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school