Marshall University vs Catholic International University
Marshall University is a public university in Huntington, WV. Catholic International University is a private university in Charles Town, WV. Students pay an average of about $7,502 a year at Marshall University after aid, and about $14,176 at Catholic International University.
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Huntington, WV
Charles Town, WV
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
7,266
116
Acceptance rate
96%
Not reported
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
Not reported
SAT (middle 50%)
910–1150
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
19–24
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Not reported
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$7,502
$14,176
Full cost / yr
$22,022
$21,546
In-state tuition
$9,162
$10,080
Out-of-state tuition
$20,342
$10,080
Application fee
$40
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$4,648
$14,775
$30k - $48k
$4,430
Not reported
$48k - $75k
$6,837
$13,578
$75k - $110k
$11,227
Not reported
Over $110k
$15,076
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
Not reported
Freshman retention
72%
Not reported
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,561
Not reported
Median earnings (10 yr)
$46,354
Not reported
Median debt at graduation
$23,250
Not reported
Student body
Pell grant recipients
39%
38%
First-generation students
37%
Not reported
International students
1%
7%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling
Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.
- Which is cheaper, Marshall University or Catholic International University?
- Marshall University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $7,502 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $14,176 at Catholic International University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
- What is the full cost of attendance at Marshall University and Catholic International University?
- Before aid, Catholic International University costs about $21,546 a year and Marshall University about $22,022. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
- Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Marshall University or Catholic International University?
- Marshall University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $4,648 there, against about $14,775 at Catholic International University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
- Which is bigger, Marshall University or Catholic International University?
- Marshall University is the larger of the two, with about 7,266 undergraduates against 116 at Catholic International University.
Related comparisons
Which of these is the better fit for you?
These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.
1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school
