Skip to content

Maryland Institute College of Art vs United States Naval Academy

Maryland Institute College of Art is a private college in Baltimore, MD, and United States Naval Academy is a public university in Annapolis, MD. United States Naval Academy is the more selective of the two, admitting about 9% of applicants against 77% at Maryland Institute College of Art. About 92% of students graduate at United States Naval Academy, compared with 72% at Maryland Institute College of Art.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Maryland Institute College of Art

Baltimore, MD · Private

United States Naval Academy

Annapolis, MD · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Baltimore, MD
Annapolis, MD
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,189
4,474
Acceptance rate
77%
9%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.4–3.9
3.46–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1078–1305
1210–1410
ACT (middle 50%)
25–33
25–31
Test policy
Test optional
Required
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$42,729
Not reported
Full cost / yr
$76,860
Not reported
In-state tuition
$56,800
Not reported
Out-of-state tuition
$56,800
Not reported
Application fee
$70
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$32,389
Not reported
$30k - $48k
$35,223
Not reported
$48k - $75k
$45,071
Not reported
$75k - $110k
$45,906
Not reported
Over $110k
$50,918
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
72%
92%
Freshman retention
83%
97%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$33,451
Not reported
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,212
Not reported
Median debt at graduation
$26,500
Not reported
Student body
Pell grant recipients
23%
Not reported
First-generation students
17%
Not reported
International students
19%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jan 31

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Maryland Institute College of Art or United States Naval Academy harder to get into?
United States Naval Academy is harder to get into. It admits about 9% of applicants, compared with 77% at Maryland Institute College of Art. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is bigger, Maryland Institute College of Art or United States Naval Academy?
United States Naval Academy is the larger of the two, with about 4,474 undergraduates against 1,189 at Maryland Institute College of Art.
Does Maryland Institute College of Art or United States Naval Academy have a better graduation rate?
United States Naval Academy has the higher graduation rate, at about 92% against 72% at Maryland Institute College of Art.
Do Maryland Institute College of Art and United States Naval Academy require SAT or ACT scores?
Maryland Institute College of Art is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. United States Naval Academy requires SAT or ACT scores.
What SAT scores do Maryland Institute College of Art and United States Naval Academy look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1078–1305 at Maryland Institute College of Art and 1210–1410 at United States Naval Academy. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school