Skip to content

Marymount University vs Old Dominion University

Marymount University is a private university in Arlington, VA, and Old Dominion University is a public university in Norfolk, VA. Old Dominion University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 90% of applicants against 93% at Marymount University. Old Dominion University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,638 a year against $29,137 at Marymount University. About 56% of students graduate at Marymount University, compared with 45% at Old Dominion University. Ten years after enrolling, Marymount University alumni earn a median of about $67,516, against $54,914 for Old Dominion University.

Marymount University

Arlington, VA · Private

Old Dominion University

Norfolk, VA · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Arlington, VA
Norfolk, VA
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,810
17,514
Acceptance rate
93%
90%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.16–3.66
3.27–3.77
SAT (middle 50%)
970–1170
1100–1280
ACT (middle 50%)
20–28
24–29
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$29,137
$14,638
Full cost / yr
$57,184
$29,446
In-state tuition
$40,920
$12,750
Out-of-state tuition
$40,920
$33,780
Application fee
$0
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$27,413
$9,739
$30k - $48k
$27,111
$10,114
$48k - $75k
$27,718
$13,123
$75k - $110k
$31,962
$16,940
Over $110k
$30,618
$23,567
Outcomes
Graduation rate
56%
45%
Freshman retention
73%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$57,801
$46,732
Median earnings (10 yr)
$67,516
$54,914
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$24,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
23%
37%
First-generation students
30%
33%
International students
12%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Dec 1
Regular decision
Rolling
Feb 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Marymount University or Old Dominion University harder to get into?
Old Dominion University is harder to get into. It admits about 90% of applicants, compared with 93% at Marymount University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Marymount University or Old Dominion University?
Old Dominion University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,638 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $29,137 at Marymount University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Marymount University and Old Dominion University?
Before aid, Old Dominion University costs about $29,446 a year and Marymount University about $57,184. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Marymount University or Old Dominion University?
Old Dominion University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,739 there, against about $27,413 at Marymount University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Marymount University or Old Dominion University?
Old Dominion University is the larger of the two, with about 17,514 undergraduates against 1,810 at Marymount University.
Does Marymount University or Old Dominion University have a better graduation rate?
Marymount University has the higher graduation rate, at about 56% against 45% at Old Dominion University.
Do graduates of Marymount University or Old Dominion University earn more?
Marymount University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $67,516 ten years after enrolling, against about $54,914 for Old Dominion University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Marymount University and Old Dominion University require SAT or ACT scores?
Marymount University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Old Dominion University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Marymount University and Old Dominion University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 970–1170 at Marymount University and 1100–1280 at Old Dominion University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school