Skip to content

Marywood University vs University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus

Marywood University is a private university in Scranton, PA. University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus is a public university in Pittsburgh, PA. University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus admits about 58% of applicants and Marywood University about 61%, making University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $23,388 a year at Marywood University after aid, and about $30,434 at University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus. About 85% of students graduate at University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus, compared with 72% at Marywood University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus alumni earn a median of about $66,125, against $55,817 for Marywood University.

Marywood University

Scranton, PA · Private

University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus

Pittsburgh, PA · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Scranton, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,784
20,370
Acceptance rate
61%
58%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.46–3.96
3.55–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1060–1250
1280–1460
ACT (middle 50%)
18–30
29–33
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$23,388
$30,434
Full cost / yr
$55,582
$38,105
In-state tuition
$41,420
$21,926
Out-of-state tuition
$41,420
$41,430
Application fee
$35
$55
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$18,941
$14,709
$30k - $48k
$21,192
$18,371
$48k - $75k
$21,303
$23,192
$75k - $110k
$24,083
$31,567
Over $110k
$28,365
$36,008
Outcomes
Graduation rate
72%
85%
Freshman retention
80%
92%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$47,000
$54,240
Median earnings (10 yr)
$55,817
$66,125
Median debt at graduation
$26,186
$24,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
32%
14%
First-generation students
29%
21%
International students
0%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Marywood University or University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus harder to get into?
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus is harder to get into. It admits about 58% of applicants, compared with 61% at Marywood University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Marywood University or University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus?
Marywood University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $23,388 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $30,434 at University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Marywood University and University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus?
Before aid, University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus costs about $38,105 a year and Marywood University about $55,582. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Marywood University or University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus?
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $14,709 there, against about $18,941 at Marywood University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Marywood University or University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus?
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus is the larger of the two, with about 20,370 undergraduates against 1,784 at Marywood University.
Does Marywood University or University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus have a better graduation rate?
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus has the higher graduation rate, at about 85% against 72% at Marywood University.
Do graduates of Marywood University or University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus earn more?
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus alumni earn more on average: a median of about $66,125 ten years after enrolling, against about $55,817 for Marywood University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Marywood University and University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus require SAT or ACT scores?
Marywood University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Marywood University and University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1060–1250 at Marywood University and 1280–1460 at University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school