Skip to content

McMurry University vs The King's University

McMurry University is a private university in Abilene, TX, and The King's University is a private university in Southlake, TX. McMurry University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 57% of applicants against 61% at The King's University. The King's University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,140 a year against $19,581 at McMurry University. About 44% of students graduate at The King's University, compared with 41% at McMurry University. Ten years after enrolling, McMurry University alumni earn a median of about $48,779, against $41,471 for The King's University.

McMurry University

Abilene, TX · Private

The King's University

Southlake, TX · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Abilene, TX
Southlake, TX
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,176
251
Acceptance rate
57%
61%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.4–3.9
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
950–1160
870–1130
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
23–24
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$19,581
$14,140
Full cost / yr
$43,778
$18,075
In-state tuition
$32,340
$12,480
Out-of-state tuition
$32,340
$12,480
Application fee
$0
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$15,946
$16,825
$30k - $48k
$16,181
$12,674
$48k - $75k
$18,272
Not reported
$75k - $110k
$23,285
$14,343
Over $110k
$27,297
$13,430
Outcomes
Graduation rate
41%
44%
Freshman retention
64%
50%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,647
$30,883
Median earnings (10 yr)
$48,779
$41,471
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
24%
39%
First-generation students
37%
40%
International students
2%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is McMurry University or The King's University harder to get into?
McMurry University is harder to get into. It admits about 57% of applicants, compared with 61% at The King's University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, McMurry University or The King's University?
The King's University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,140 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $19,581 at McMurry University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at McMurry University and The King's University?
Before aid, The King's University costs about $18,075 a year and McMurry University about $43,778. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, McMurry University or The King's University?
McMurry University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $15,946 there, against about $16,825 at The King's University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, McMurry University or The King's University?
McMurry University is the larger of the two, with about 1,176 undergraduates against 251 at The King's University.
Does McMurry University or The King's University have a better graduation rate?
The King's University has the higher graduation rate, at about 44% against 41% at McMurry University.
Do graduates of McMurry University or The King's University earn more?
McMurry University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $48,779 ten years after enrolling, against about $41,471 for The King's University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do McMurry University and The King's University require SAT or ACT scores?
McMurry University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. The King's University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do McMurry University and The King's University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 950–1160 at McMurry University and 870–1130 at The King's University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school