Skip to content

Mercy College of Ohio vs University of Toledo

Mercy College of Ohio is a private college in Toledo, OH, and University of Toledo is a public university in Toledo, OH. University of Toledo is the more selective of the two, admitting about 92% of applicants against 93% at Mercy College of Ohio. University of Toledo is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $17,249 a year against $17,989 at Mercy College of Ohio. About 56% of students graduate at University of Toledo, compared with 49% at Mercy College of Ohio. Ten years after enrolling, Mercy College of Ohio alumni earn a median of about $65,409, against $50,632 for University of Toledo.

Mercy College of Ohio

Toledo, OH · Private

University of Toledo

Toledo, OH · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Toledo, OH
Toledo, OH
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
939
9,770
Acceptance rate
93%
92%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.1–3.6
3.29–3.79
SAT (middle 50%)
790–1010
1100–1300
ACT (middle 50%)
15–20
23–29
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$17,989
$17,249
Full cost / yr
$30,260
$26,512
In-state tuition
$19,470
$12,744
Out-of-state tuition
$19,470
$22,104
Application fee
Not reported
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,867
$13,524
$30k - $48k
$13,037
$13,365
$48k - $75k
$11,567
$16,407
$75k - $110k
$21,291
$19,659
Over $110k
$19,735
$22,053
Outcomes
Graduation rate
49%
56%
Freshman retention
87%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$61,877
$44,162
Median earnings (10 yr)
$65,409
$50,632
Median debt at graduation
$20,834
$22,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
33%
27%
First-generation students
49%
33%
International students
0%
9%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Mercy College of Ohio or University of Toledo harder to get into?
University of Toledo is harder to get into. It admits about 92% of applicants, compared with 93% at Mercy College of Ohio. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Mercy College of Ohio or University of Toledo?
University of Toledo is cheaper on average. Students pay about $17,249 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,989 at Mercy College of Ohio. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Mercy College of Ohio and University of Toledo?
Before aid, University of Toledo costs about $26,512 a year and Mercy College of Ohio about $30,260. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Mercy College of Ohio or University of Toledo?
University of Toledo. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,524 there, against about $19,867 at Mercy College of Ohio. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Mercy College of Ohio or University of Toledo?
University of Toledo is the larger of the two, with about 9,770 undergraduates against 939 at Mercy College of Ohio.
Does Mercy College of Ohio or University of Toledo have a better graduation rate?
University of Toledo has the higher graduation rate, at about 56% against 49% at Mercy College of Ohio.
Do graduates of Mercy College of Ohio or University of Toledo earn more?
Mercy College of Ohio alumni earn more on average: a median of about $65,409 ten years after enrolling, against about $50,632 for University of Toledo. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Mercy College of Ohio and University of Toledo require SAT or ACT scores?
Mercy College of Ohio considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. University of Toledo is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Mercy College of Ohio and University of Toledo look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 790–1010 at Mercy College of Ohio and 1100–1300 at University of Toledo. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school