Methodist College vs Principia College
Methodist College is a private college in Peoria, IL. Principia College is a private college in Elsah, IL. Methodist College admits about 39% of applicants and Principia College about 44%, making Methodist College the harder of the two to get into. About 75% of students graduate at Principia College, compared with 62% at Methodist College.
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Peoria, IL
Elsah, IL
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
245
339
Acceptance rate
39%
44%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.24–3.94
3.36–4
SAT (middle 50%)
800–1160
1040–1250
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
19–23
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$41,787
Not reported
Full cost / yr
$46,874
Not reported
In-state tuition
$18,008
$34,680
Out-of-state tuition
$18,008
$34,680
Application fee
$25
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
Not reported
Not reported
$30k - $48k
Not reported
Not reported
$48k - $75k
Not reported
Not reported
$75k - $110k
$41,787
Not reported
Over $110k
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
62%
75%
Freshman retention
Not reported
83%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$64,709
Not reported
Median earnings (10 yr)
$69,800
Not reported
Median debt at graduation
$31,250
Not reported
Student body
Pell grant recipients
51%
0%
First-generation students
35%
Not reported
International students
0%
41%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
May 1
Rolling
Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.
- Is Methodist College or Principia College harder to get into?
- Methodist College is harder to get into. It admits about 39% of applicants, compared with 44% at Principia College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
- Which is bigger, Methodist College or Principia College?
- Principia College is the larger of the two, with about 339 undergraduates against 245 at Methodist College.
- Does Methodist College or Principia College have a better graduation rate?
- Principia College has the higher graduation rate, at about 75% against 62% at Methodist College.
- Do Methodist College and Principia College require SAT or ACT scores?
- Methodist College considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Principia College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
- What SAT scores do Methodist College and Principia College look for?
- The middle 50% of admitted students score 800–1160 at Methodist College and 1040–1250 at Principia College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.
Related comparisons
Which of these is the better fit for you?
These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.
1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school