Skip to content

Metropolitan State University of Denver vs Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design

Metropolitan State University of Denver is a public university in Denver, CO, and Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design is a private for-profit college in Lakewood, CO. Metropolitan State University of Denver is the more selective of the two, admitting about 99% of applicants against 100% at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design. Metropolitan State University of Denver is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $15,327 a year against $32,363 at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design. About 34% of students graduate at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design, compared with 31% at Metropolitan State University of Denver. Ten years after enrolling, Metropolitan State University of Denver alumni earn a median of about $52,093, against $42,958 for Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design.

Metropolitan State University of Denver

Denver, CO · Public

Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design

Lakewood, CO · Private (for-profit)
At a glance
Type
Public
Private (for-profit)
Location
Denver, CO
Lakewood, CO
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
15,002
2,050
Acceptance rate
99%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
~2.71 avg
3.13–3.63
SAT (middle 50%)
880–1130
910–1150
ACT (middle 50%)
17–26
19–23
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$15,327
$32,363
Full cost / yr
$24,622
$37,505
In-state tuition
$11,124
$20,190
Out-of-state tuition
$30,684
$20,190
Application fee
$0
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,481
$29,847
$30k - $48k
$12,436
$29,351
$48k - $75k
$14,927
$32,387
$75k - $110k
$19,539
$36,040
Over $110k
$23,822
$36,201
Outcomes
Graduation rate
31%
34%
Freshman retention
63%
54%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$45,391
$30,280
Median earnings (10 yr)
$52,093
$42,958
Median debt at graduation
$21,500
$31,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
36%
48%
First-generation students
40%
33%
International students
1%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Metropolitan State University of Denver or Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design harder to get into?
Metropolitan State University of Denver is harder to get into. It admits about 99% of applicants, compared with 100% at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Metropolitan State University of Denver or Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design?
Metropolitan State University of Denver is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,327 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $32,363 at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Metropolitan State University of Denver and Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design?
Before aid, Metropolitan State University of Denver costs about $24,622 a year and Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design about $37,505. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Metropolitan State University of Denver or Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design?
Metropolitan State University of Denver. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,481 there, against about $29,847 at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Metropolitan State University of Denver or Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design?
Metropolitan State University of Denver is the larger of the two, with about 15,002 undergraduates against 2,050 at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design.
Does Metropolitan State University of Denver or Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design have a better graduation rate?
Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design has the higher graduation rate, at about 34% against 31% at Metropolitan State University of Denver.
Do graduates of Metropolitan State University of Denver or Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design earn more?
Metropolitan State University of Denver alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,093 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,958 for Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Metropolitan State University of Denver and Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design require SAT or ACT scores?
Metropolitan State University of Denver is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Metropolitan State University of Denver and Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 880–1130 at Metropolitan State University of Denver and 910–1150 at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school