Skip to content

Middle Tennessee State University vs Southern Adventist University

Middle Tennessee State University is a public university in Murfreesboro, TN. Southern Adventist University is a private university in Collegedale, TN. Southern Adventist University admits about 66% of applicants and Middle Tennessee State University about 69%, making Southern Adventist University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $13,359 a year at Middle Tennessee State University after aid, and about $24,345 at Southern Adventist University. About 54% of students graduate at Middle Tennessee State University, compared with 50% at Southern Adventist University. Ten years after enrolling, Southern Adventist University alumni earn a median of about $53,723, against $48,541 for Middle Tennessee State University.

Middle Tennessee State University

Murfreesboro, TN · Public

Southern Adventist University

Collegedale, TN · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Murfreesboro, TN
Collegedale, TN
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
16,301
2,773
Acceptance rate
69%
66%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.43–3.93
3.44–3.94
SAT (middle 50%)
1010–1230
1020–1300
ACT (middle 50%)
20–26
19–25
Test policy
Required
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,359
$24,345
Full cost / yr
$24,289
$38,618
In-state tuition
$10,266
$27,300
Out-of-state tuition
$31,574
$27,300
Application fee
$25
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$9,289
$19,123
$30k - $48k
$10,273
$20,421
$48k - $75k
$13,007
$22,849
$75k - $110k
$16,935
$26,679
Over $110k
$19,046
$30,751
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
50%
Freshman retention
80%
83%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,941
$44,818
Median earnings (10 yr)
$48,541
$53,723
Median debt at graduation
$20,000
$24,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
32%
31%
First-generation students
36%
18%
International students
2%
8%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Middle Tennessee State University or Southern Adventist University harder to get into?
Southern Adventist University is harder to get into. It admits about 66% of applicants, compared with 69% at Middle Tennessee State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Middle Tennessee State University or Southern Adventist University?
Middle Tennessee State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,359 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,345 at Southern Adventist University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Middle Tennessee State University and Southern Adventist University?
Before aid, Middle Tennessee State University costs about $24,289 a year and Southern Adventist University about $38,618. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Middle Tennessee State University or Southern Adventist University?
Middle Tennessee State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,289 there, against about $19,123 at Southern Adventist University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Middle Tennessee State University or Southern Adventist University?
Middle Tennessee State University is the larger of the two, with about 16,301 undergraduates against 2,773 at Southern Adventist University.
Does Middle Tennessee State University or Southern Adventist University have a better graduation rate?
Middle Tennessee State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 54% against 50% at Southern Adventist University.
Do graduates of Middle Tennessee State University or Southern Adventist University earn more?
Southern Adventist University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $53,723 ten years after enrolling, against about $48,541 for Middle Tennessee State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Middle Tennessee State University and Southern Adventist University require SAT or ACT scores?
Middle Tennessee State University requires SAT or ACT scores. Southern Adventist University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Middle Tennessee State University and Southern Adventist University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1010–1230 at Middle Tennessee State University and 1020–1300 at Southern Adventist University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school