Skip to content

Miles College vs University of Montevallo

Miles College is a private college in Fairfield, AL, and University of Montevallo is a public university in Montevallo, AL. Miles College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,271 a year against $17,683 at University of Montevallo. About 52% of students graduate at University of Montevallo, compared with 20% at Miles College. Ten years after enrolling, University of Montevallo alumni earn a median of about $42,957, against $32,627 for Miles College.

Miles College

Fairfield, AL · Private

University of Montevallo

Montevallo, AL · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Fairfield, AL
Montevallo, AL
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,155
2,151
Acceptance rate
Not reported
54%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
Not reported
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
970–1200
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
19–26
Test policy
Not reported
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,271
$17,683
Full cost / yr
$21,154
$27,398
In-state tuition
$13,314
$13,948
Out-of-state tuition
$13,314
$26,968
Application fee
Not reported
$35
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$13,907
$14,471
$30k - $48k
$13,677
$16,104
$48k - $75k
$16,747
$18,615
$75k - $110k
$18,889
$20,357
Over $110k
Not reported
$21,873
Outcomes
Graduation rate
20%
52%
Freshman retention
56%
73%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$25,822
$35,406
Median earnings (10 yr)
$32,627
$42,957
Median debt at graduation
$31,217
$24,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
72%
32%
First-generation students
42%
33%
International students
0%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Aug 2
Aug 15

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Miles College or University of Montevallo?
Miles College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,271 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,683 at University of Montevallo. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Miles College and University of Montevallo?
Before aid, Miles College costs about $21,154 a year and University of Montevallo about $27,398. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Miles College or University of Montevallo?
Miles College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,907 there, against about $14,471 at University of Montevallo. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Miles College or University of Montevallo?
University of Montevallo is the larger of the two, with about 2,151 undergraduates against 1,155 at Miles College.
Does Miles College or University of Montevallo have a better graduation rate?
University of Montevallo has the higher graduation rate, at about 52% against 20% at Miles College.
Do graduates of Miles College or University of Montevallo earn more?
University of Montevallo alumni earn more on average: a median of about $42,957 ten years after enrolling, against about $32,627 for Miles College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school