Skip to content

Millersville University of Pennsylvania vs Harrisburg University of Science and Technology

Millersville University of Pennsylvania is a public university in Millersville, PA. Harrisburg University of Science and Technology is a private university in Harrisburg, PA. Millersville University of Pennsylvania admits about 86% of applicants and Harrisburg University of Science and Technology about 87%, making Millersville University of Pennsylvania the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $15,376 a year at Harrisburg University of Science and Technology after aid, and about $20,787 at Millersville University of Pennsylvania. About 56% of students graduate at Millersville University of Pennsylvania, compared with 39% at Harrisburg University of Science and Technology. Ten years after enrolling, Millersville University of Pennsylvania alumni earn a median of about $55,246, against $52,374 for Harrisburg University of Science and Technology.

Millersville University of Pennsylvania

Millersville, PA · Public

Harrisburg University of Science and Technology

Harrisburg, PA · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Millersville, PA
Harrisburg, PA
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
5,728
615
Acceptance rate
86%
87%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.35–3.85
3.41–3.91
SAT (middle 50%)
1020–1210
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,787
$15,376
Full cost / yr
$26,913
$35,893
In-state tuition
$11,128
$24,400
Out-of-state tuition
$22,952
$24,400
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$14,565
$12,637
$30k - $48k
$15,313
$11,292
$48k - $75k
$17,961
$15,063
$75k - $110k
$22,010
$19,420
Over $110k
$24,541
$20,871
Outcomes
Graduation rate
56%
39%
Freshman retention
77%
74%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$44,813
$34,365
Median earnings (10 yr)
$55,246
$52,374
Median debt at graduation
$23,507
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
27%
47%
First-generation students
35%
44%
International students
1%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Millersville University of Pennsylvania or Harrisburg University of Science and Technology harder to get into?
Millersville University of Pennsylvania is harder to get into. It admits about 86% of applicants, compared with 87% at Harrisburg University of Science and Technology. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Millersville University of Pennsylvania or Harrisburg University of Science and Technology?
Harrisburg University of Science and Technology is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,376 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,787 at Millersville University of Pennsylvania. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Millersville University of Pennsylvania and Harrisburg University of Science and Technology?
Before aid, Millersville University of Pennsylvania costs about $26,913 a year and Harrisburg University of Science and Technology about $35,893. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Millersville University of Pennsylvania or Harrisburg University of Science and Technology?
Harrisburg University of Science and Technology. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,637 there, against about $14,565 at Millersville University of Pennsylvania. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Millersville University of Pennsylvania or Harrisburg University of Science and Technology?
Millersville University of Pennsylvania is the larger of the two, with about 5,728 undergraduates against 615 at Harrisburg University of Science and Technology.
Does Millersville University of Pennsylvania or Harrisburg University of Science and Technology have a better graduation rate?
Millersville University of Pennsylvania has the higher graduation rate, at about 56% against 39% at Harrisburg University of Science and Technology.
Do graduates of Millersville University of Pennsylvania or Harrisburg University of Science and Technology earn more?
Millersville University of Pennsylvania alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,246 ten years after enrolling, against about $52,374 for Harrisburg University of Science and Technology. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Millersville University of Pennsylvania and Harrisburg University of Science and Technology require SAT or ACT scores?
Millersville University of Pennsylvania is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Harrisburg University of Science and Technology is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school