Skip to content

Minnesota State University Moorhead vs Crown College

Minnesota State University Moorhead is a public university in Moorhead, MN, and Crown College is a private college in Saint Bonifacius, MN. Crown College is the more selective of the two, admitting about 23% of applicants against 59% at Minnesota State University Moorhead. Minnesota State University Moorhead is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $17,997 a year against $26,672 at Crown College. About 56% of students graduate at Minnesota State University Moorhead, compared with 54% at Crown College. Ten years after enrolling, Minnesota State University Moorhead alumni earn a median of about $50,527, against $48,057 for Crown College.

Minnesota State University Moorhead

Moorhead, MN · Public

Crown College

Saint Bonifacius, MN · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Moorhead, MN
Saint Bonifacius, MN
Setting
Suburban
Rural
Undergraduates
3,072
796
Acceptance rate
59%
23%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.46–3.96
3.33–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1080–1290
960–1150
ACT (middle 50%)
18–25
18–23
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$17,997
$26,672
Full cost / yr
$25,197
$46,598
In-state tuition
$10,428
$31,410
Out-of-state tuition
$10,428
$31,410
Application fee
$20
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$11,129
$24,270
$30k - $48k
$11,547
$21,318
$48k - $75k
$13,907
$22,499
$75k - $110k
$18,644
$27,777
Over $110k
$22,420
$30,874
Outcomes
Graduation rate
56%
54%
Freshman retention
75%
70%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$45,873
$39,003
Median earnings (10 yr)
$50,527
$48,057
Median debt at graduation
$20,000
$22,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
28%
24%
First-generation students
20%
27%
International students
5%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Dec 1
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Minnesota State University Moorhead or Crown College harder to get into?
Crown College is harder to get into. It admits about 23% of applicants, compared with 59% at Minnesota State University Moorhead. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Minnesota State University Moorhead or Crown College?
Minnesota State University Moorhead is cheaper on average. Students pay about $17,997 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $26,672 at Crown College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Minnesota State University Moorhead and Crown College?
Before aid, Minnesota State University Moorhead costs about $25,197 a year and Crown College about $46,598. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Minnesota State University Moorhead or Crown College?
Minnesota State University Moorhead. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,129 there, against about $24,270 at Crown College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Minnesota State University Moorhead or Crown College?
Minnesota State University Moorhead is the larger of the two, with about 3,072 undergraduates against 796 at Crown College.
Does Minnesota State University Moorhead or Crown College have a better graduation rate?
Minnesota State University Moorhead has the higher graduation rate, at about 56% against 54% at Crown College.
Do graduates of Minnesota State University Moorhead or Crown College earn more?
Minnesota State University Moorhead alumni earn more on average: a median of about $50,527 ten years after enrolling, against about $48,057 for Crown College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Minnesota State University Moorhead and Crown College require SAT or ACT scores?
Minnesota State University Moorhead is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Crown College considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Minnesota State University Moorhead and Crown College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1080–1290 at Minnesota State University Moorhead and 960–1150 at Crown College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school