Skip to content

Montana State University Billings vs Salish Kootenai College

Montana State University Billings is a public university in Billings, MT, and Salish Kootenai College is a public college in Pablo, MT. Salish Kootenai College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $7,945 a year against $16,524 at Montana State University Billings. About 32% of students graduate at Salish Kootenai College, compared with 29% at Montana State University Billings. Ten years after enrolling, Montana State University Billings alumni earn a median of about $44,296, against $32,725 for Salish Kootenai College.

Montana State University Billings

Billings, MT · Public

Salish Kootenai College

Pablo, MT · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Billings, MT
Pablo, MT
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
2,626
580
Acceptance rate
100%
Not reported
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
Not reported
SAT (middle 50%)
940–1160
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Not reported
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$16,524
$7,945
Full cost / yr
$20,054
$13,047
In-state tuition
$7,280
$4,311
Out-of-state tuition
$22,897
$11,583
Application fee
$30
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$13,927
$6,999
$30k - $48k
$14,387
$9,221
$48k - $75k
$16,749
$8,502
$75k - $110k
$18,948
$11,883
Over $110k
$20,035
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
29%
32%
Freshman retention
56%
82%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,531
$28,894
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,296
$32,725
Median debt at graduation
$18,209
$12,923
Student body
Pell grant recipients
25%
58%
First-generation students
38%
45%
International students
2%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Aug 28
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Montana State University Billings or Salish Kootenai College?
Salish Kootenai College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $7,945 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $16,524 at Montana State University Billings. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Montana State University Billings and Salish Kootenai College?
Before aid, Salish Kootenai College costs about $13,047 a year and Montana State University Billings about $20,054. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Montana State University Billings or Salish Kootenai College?
Salish Kootenai College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $6,999 there, against about $13,927 at Montana State University Billings. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Montana State University Billings or Salish Kootenai College?
Montana State University Billings is the larger of the two, with about 2,626 undergraduates against 580 at Salish Kootenai College.
Does Montana State University Billings or Salish Kootenai College have a better graduation rate?
Salish Kootenai College has the higher graduation rate, at about 32% against 29% at Montana State University Billings.
Do graduates of Montana State University Billings or Salish Kootenai College earn more?
Montana State University Billings alumni earn more on average: a median of about $44,296 ten years after enrolling, against about $32,725 for Salish Kootenai College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school