Skip to content

Moore College of Art and Design vs Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton

Moore College of Art and Design is a private college in Philadelphia, PA, and Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton is a public university in Hazleton, PA. Moore College of Art and Design is the more selective of the two, admitting about 56% of applicants against 96% at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton. Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $17,597 a year against $43,086 at Moore College of Art and Design. About 60% of students graduate at Moore College of Art and Design, compared with 22% at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton. Ten years after enrolling, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton alumni earn a median of about $63,435, against $37,839 for Moore College of Art and Design.

Moore College of Art and Design

Philadelphia, PA · Private

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton

Hazleton, PA · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Philadelphia, PA
Hazleton, PA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
535
501
Acceptance rate
56%
96%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.51–4
3.19–3.69
SAT (middle 50%)
1180–1380
1090–1290
ACT (middle 50%)
26–32
20–28
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$43,086
$17,597
Full cost / yr
$71,327
$29,677
In-state tuition
$52,812
$15,208
Out-of-state tuition
$52,812
$25,392
Application fee
$60
$65
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$34,834
$11,770
$30k - $48k
$42,789
$14,756
$48k - $75k
$34,168
$13,902
$75k - $110k
$46,865
$19,777
Over $110k
$47,504
$23,218
Outcomes
Graduation rate
60%
22%
Freshman retention
81%
75%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$30,512
$55,620
Median earnings (10 yr)
$37,839
$63,435
Median debt at graduation
$26,000
$25,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
43%
43%
First-generation students
31%
29%
International students
0%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Moore College of Art and Design or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton harder to get into?
Moore College of Art and Design is harder to get into. It admits about 56% of applicants, compared with 96% at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Moore College of Art and Design or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton is cheaper on average. Students pay about $17,597 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $43,086 at Moore College of Art and Design. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Moore College of Art and Design and Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton?
Before aid, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton costs about $29,677 a year and Moore College of Art and Design about $71,327. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Moore College of Art and Design or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,770 there, against about $34,834 at Moore College of Art and Design. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Moore College of Art and Design or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton?
Moore College of Art and Design is the larger of the two, with about 535 undergraduates against 501 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton.
Does Moore College of Art and Design or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton have a better graduation rate?
Moore College of Art and Design has the higher graduation rate, at about 60% against 22% at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton.
Do graduates of Moore College of Art and Design or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton earn more?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton alumni earn more on average: a median of about $63,435 ten years after enrolling, against about $37,839 for Moore College of Art and Design. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Moore College of Art and Design and Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton require SAT or ACT scores?
Moore College of Art and Design is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Moore College of Art and Design and Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1180–1380 at Moore College of Art and Design and 1090–1290 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school