Skip to content

Mount Carmel College of Nursing vs Mount Vernon Nazarene University

Mount Carmel College of Nursing is a private college in Columbus, OH, and Mount Vernon Nazarene University is a private university in Mount Vernon, OH. Both admit about 84% of applicants. Mount Carmel College of Nursing is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $10,420 a year against $22,421 at Mount Vernon Nazarene University. About 66% of students graduate at Mount Vernon Nazarene University, compared with 64% at Mount Carmel College of Nursing. Ten years after enrolling, Mount Carmel College of Nursing alumni earn a median of about $75,103, against $49,555 for Mount Vernon Nazarene University.

Mount Carmel College of Nursing

Columbus, OH · Private

Mount Vernon Nazarene University

Mount Vernon, OH · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Columbus, OH
Mount Vernon, OH
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
532
1,358
Acceptance rate
84%
84%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.32–3.82
3.38–3.88
SAT (middle 50%)
1010–1140
1046–1315
ACT (middle 50%)
17–21
18–25
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$10,420
$22,421
Full cost / yr
$21,446
$49,858
In-state tuition
$22,080
$37,158
Out-of-state tuition
$22,080
$37,158
Application fee
$30
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$6,312
$22,358
$30k - $48k
$7,184
$20,508
$48k - $75k
$14,438
$18,116
$75k - $110k
$17,556
$21,486
Over $110k
$16,383
$26,271
Outcomes
Graduation rate
64%
66%
Freshman retention
81%
79%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$68,161
$43,046
Median earnings (10 yr)
$75,103
$49,555
Median debt at graduation
$22,082
$25,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
33%
30%
First-generation students
39%
38%
International students
0%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jul 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Mount Carmel College of Nursing or Mount Vernon Nazarene University harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 84% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Mount Carmel College of Nursing or Mount Vernon Nazarene University?
Mount Carmel College of Nursing is cheaper on average. Students pay about $10,420 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,421 at Mount Vernon Nazarene University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Mount Carmel College of Nursing and Mount Vernon Nazarene University?
Before aid, Mount Carmel College of Nursing costs about $21,446 a year and Mount Vernon Nazarene University about $49,858. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Mount Carmel College of Nursing or Mount Vernon Nazarene University?
Mount Carmel College of Nursing. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $6,312 there, against about $22,358 at Mount Vernon Nazarene University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Mount Carmel College of Nursing or Mount Vernon Nazarene University?
Mount Vernon Nazarene University is the larger of the two, with about 1,358 undergraduates against 532 at Mount Carmel College of Nursing.
Does Mount Carmel College of Nursing or Mount Vernon Nazarene University have a better graduation rate?
Mount Vernon Nazarene University has the higher graduation rate, at about 66% against 64% at Mount Carmel College of Nursing.
Do graduates of Mount Carmel College of Nursing or Mount Vernon Nazarene University earn more?
Mount Carmel College of Nursing alumni earn more on average: a median of about $75,103 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,555 for Mount Vernon Nazarene University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Mount Carmel College of Nursing and Mount Vernon Nazarene University require SAT or ACT scores?
Mount Carmel College of Nursing is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Mount Vernon Nazarene University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Mount Carmel College of Nursing and Mount Vernon Nazarene University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1010–1140 at Mount Carmel College of Nursing and 1046–1315 at Mount Vernon Nazarene University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school