Skip to content

Mount St. Joseph University vs Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus

Mount St. Joseph University is a private university in Cincinnati, OH, and Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus is a public university in Chillicothe, OH. Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus is the more selective of the two, admitting about 52% of applicants against 59% at Mount St. Joseph University. Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $5,755 a year against $16,530 at Mount St. Joseph University. About 56% of students graduate at Mount St. Joseph University, compared with 13% at Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus. Ten years after enrolling, Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus alumni earn a median of about $52,581, against $51,509 for Mount St. Joseph University.

Mount St. Joseph University

Cincinnati, OH · Private

Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus

Chillicothe, OH · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Cincinnati, OH
Chillicothe, OH
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,129
833
Acceptance rate
59%
52%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.4–3.9
3.6–4
SAT (middle 50%)
930–1140
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
20–28
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$16,530
$5,755
Full cost / yr
$46,719
$11,356
In-state tuition
$38,150
$6,362
Out-of-state tuition
$38,150
$9,444
Application fee
$25
$20
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$11,689
$3,118
$30k - $48k
$12,602
$3,217
$48k - $75k
$13,817
$4,835
$75k - $110k
$18,092
$8,345
Over $110k
$21,682
$9,112
Outcomes
Graduation rate
56%
13%
Freshman retention
69%
67%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,595
$48,991
Median earnings (10 yr)
$51,509
$52,581
Median debt at graduation
$26,827
$21,056
Student body
Pell grant recipients
30%
16%
First-generation students
38%
34%
International students
0%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 1
Dec 1
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Mount St. Joseph University or Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus harder to get into?
Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus is harder to get into. It admits about 52% of applicants, compared with 59% at Mount St. Joseph University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Mount St. Joseph University or Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus?
Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus is cheaper on average. Students pay about $5,755 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $16,530 at Mount St. Joseph University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Mount St. Joseph University and Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus?
Before aid, Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus costs about $11,356 a year and Mount St. Joseph University about $46,719. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Mount St. Joseph University or Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus?
Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $3,118 there, against about $11,689 at Mount St. Joseph University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Mount St. Joseph University or Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus?
Mount St. Joseph University is the larger of the two, with about 1,129 undergraduates against 833 at Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus.
Does Mount St. Joseph University or Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus have a better graduation rate?
Mount St. Joseph University has the higher graduation rate, at about 56% against 13% at Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus.
Do graduates of Mount St. Joseph University or Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus earn more?
Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,581 ten years after enrolling, against about $51,509 for Mount St. Joseph University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Mount St. Joseph University and Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus require SAT or ACT scores?
Mount St. Joseph University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school