Skip to content

New England College vs Plymouth State University

New England College is a private college in Henniker, NH, and Plymouth State University is a public university in Plymouth, NH. Plymouth State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 88% of applicants against 92% at New England College. Plymouth State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $19,216 a year against $26,972 at New England College. About 50% of students graduate at Plymouth State University, compared with 33% at New England College. Ten years after enrolling, Plymouth State University alumni earn a median of about $57,304, against $42,092 for New England College.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

New England College

Henniker, NH · Private

Plymouth State University

Plymouth, NH · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Henniker, NH
Plymouth, NH
Setting
Rural
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,022
3,153
Acceptance rate
92%
88%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.12–3.62
3.21–3.71
SAT (middle 50%)
870–1090
950–1030
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
16–21
Test policy
Test optional
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$26,972
$19,216
Full cost / yr
$59,350
$29,644
In-state tuition
$41,938
$14,626
Out-of-state tuition
$41,938
$25,566
Application fee
$0
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$25,598
$14,676
$30k - $48k
$24,340
$14,714
$48k - $75k
$26,238
$17,030
$75k - $110k
$28,741
$21,157
Over $110k
$28,249
$23,020
Outcomes
Graduation rate
33%
50%
Freshman retention
61%
68%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$31,050
$46,466
Median earnings (10 yr)
$42,092
$57,304
Median debt at graduation
$26,000
$26,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
36%
28%
First-generation students
46%
27%
International students
4%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is New England College or Plymouth State University harder to get into?
Plymouth State University is harder to get into. It admits about 88% of applicants, compared with 92% at New England College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, New England College or Plymouth State University?
Plymouth State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $19,216 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $26,972 at New England College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at New England College and Plymouth State University?
Before aid, Plymouth State University costs about $29,644 a year and New England College about $59,350. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, New England College or Plymouth State University?
Plymouth State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $14,676 there, against about $25,598 at New England College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, New England College or Plymouth State University?
Plymouth State University is the larger of the two, with about 3,153 undergraduates against 1,022 at New England College.
Does New England College or Plymouth State University have a better graduation rate?
Plymouth State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 50% against 33% at New England College.
Do graduates of New England College or Plymouth State University earn more?
Plymouth State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $57,304 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,092 for New England College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do New England College and Plymouth State University require SAT or ACT scores?
New England College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Plymouth State University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do New England College and Plymouth State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 870–1090 at New England College and 950–1030 at Plymouth State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school