Skip to content

New Mexico State University-Main Campus vs Brookline College-Albuquerque

New Mexico State University-Main Campus is a public university in Las Cruces, NM, and Brookline College-Albuquerque is a private for-profit college in Albuquerque, NM. New Mexico State University-Main Campus is the more selective of the two, admitting about 89% of applicants against 100% at Brookline College-Albuquerque. New Mexico State University-Main Campus is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $8,889 a year against $37,459 at Brookline College-Albuquerque. About 55% of students graduate at Brookline College-Albuquerque, compared with 54% at New Mexico State University-Main Campus. Ten years after enrolling, New Mexico State University-Main Campus alumni earn a median of about $39,067, against $29,576 for Brookline College-Albuquerque.

New Mexico State University-Main Campus

Las Cruces, NM · Public

Brookline College-Albuquerque

Albuquerque, NM · Private (for-profit)
At a glance
Type
Public
Private (for-profit)
Location
Las Cruces, NM
Albuquerque, NM
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
11,946
542
Acceptance rate
89%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.18–3.68
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
870–1110
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$8,889
$37,459
Full cost / yr
$23,274
Not reported
In-state tuition
$8,183
Not reported
Out-of-state tuition
$25,307
Not reported
Application fee
$25
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$6,648
$36,151
$30k - $48k
$7,424
Not reported
$48k - $75k
$9,861
Not reported
$75k - $110k
$13,146
$38,768
Over $110k
$14,049
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
55%
Freshman retention
73%
0%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$32,960
$32,705
Median earnings (10 yr)
$39,067
$29,576
Median debt at graduation
$17,095
$9,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
38%
47%
First-generation students
44%
56%
International students
2%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is New Mexico State University-Main Campus or Brookline College-Albuquerque harder to get into?
New Mexico State University-Main Campus is harder to get into. It admits about 89% of applicants, compared with 100% at Brookline College-Albuquerque. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, New Mexico State University-Main Campus or Brookline College-Albuquerque?
New Mexico State University-Main Campus is cheaper on average. Students pay about $8,889 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $37,459 at Brookline College-Albuquerque. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, New Mexico State University-Main Campus or Brookline College-Albuquerque?
New Mexico State University-Main Campus. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $6,648 there, against about $36,151 at Brookline College-Albuquerque. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, New Mexico State University-Main Campus or Brookline College-Albuquerque?
New Mexico State University-Main Campus is the larger of the two, with about 11,946 undergraduates against 542 at Brookline College-Albuquerque.
Does New Mexico State University-Main Campus or Brookline College-Albuquerque have a better graduation rate?
Brookline College-Albuquerque has the higher graduation rate, at about 55% against 54% at New Mexico State University-Main Campus.
Do graduates of New Mexico State University-Main Campus or Brookline College-Albuquerque earn more?
New Mexico State University-Main Campus alumni earn more on average: a median of about $39,067 ten years after enrolling, against about $29,576 for Brookline College-Albuquerque. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do New Mexico State University-Main Campus and Brookline College-Albuquerque require SAT or ACT scores?
New Mexico State University-Main Campus is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Brookline College-Albuquerque is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school