Skip to content

New Mexico State University-Main Campus vs University of the Southwest

New Mexico State University-Main Campus is a public university in Las Cruces, NM, and University of the Southwest is a private university in Hobbs, NM. University of the Southwest is the more selective of the two, admitting about 45% of applicants against 89% at New Mexico State University-Main Campus. New Mexico State University-Main Campus is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $8,889 a year against $16,927 at University of the Southwest. About 54% of students graduate at New Mexico State University-Main Campus, compared with 23% at University of the Southwest. Ten years after enrolling, University of the Southwest alumni earn a median of about $45,389, against $39,067 for New Mexico State University-Main Campus.

New Mexico State University-Main Campus

Las Cruces, NM · Public

University of the Southwest

Hobbs, NM · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Las Cruces, NM
Hobbs, NM
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
11,946
346
Acceptance rate
89%
45%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.18–3.68
3.5–4
SAT (middle 50%)
870–1110
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Not reported
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$8,889
$16,927
Full cost / yr
$23,274
$28,210
In-state tuition
$8,183
$16,670
Out-of-state tuition
$25,307
$16,670
Application fee
$25
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$6,648
$15,384
$30k - $48k
$7,424
$14,090
$48k - $75k
$9,861
$15,943
$75k - $110k
$13,146
$20,077
Over $110k
$14,049
$21,985
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
23%
Freshman retention
73%
55%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$32,960
$36,600
Median earnings (10 yr)
$39,067
$45,389
Median debt at graduation
$17,095
$21,303
Student body
Pell grant recipients
38%
55%
First-generation students
44%
47%
International students
2%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is New Mexico State University-Main Campus or University of the Southwest harder to get into?
University of the Southwest is harder to get into. It admits about 45% of applicants, compared with 89% at New Mexico State University-Main Campus. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, New Mexico State University-Main Campus or University of the Southwest?
New Mexico State University-Main Campus is cheaper on average. Students pay about $8,889 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $16,927 at University of the Southwest. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at New Mexico State University-Main Campus and University of the Southwest?
Before aid, New Mexico State University-Main Campus costs about $23,274 a year and University of the Southwest about $28,210. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, New Mexico State University-Main Campus or University of the Southwest?
New Mexico State University-Main Campus. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $6,648 there, against about $15,384 at University of the Southwest. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, New Mexico State University-Main Campus or University of the Southwest?
New Mexico State University-Main Campus is the larger of the two, with about 11,946 undergraduates against 346 at University of the Southwest.
Does New Mexico State University-Main Campus or University of the Southwest have a better graduation rate?
New Mexico State University-Main Campus has the higher graduation rate, at about 54% against 23% at University of the Southwest.
Do graduates of New Mexico State University-Main Campus or University of the Southwest earn more?
University of the Southwest alumni earn more on average: a median of about $45,389 ten years after enrolling, against about $39,067 for New Mexico State University-Main Campus. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school