Skip to content

Northern Michigan University vs Oakland University

Northern Michigan University is a public university in Marquette, MI. Oakland University is a public university in Rochester Hills, MI. Northern Michigan University admits about 84% of applicants and Oakland University about 88%, making Northern Michigan University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $9,120 a year at Oakland University after aid, and about $14,085 at Northern Michigan University. About 57% of students graduate at Oakland University, compared with 52% at Northern Michigan University. Ten years after enrolling, Oakland University alumni earn a median of about $58,612, against $47,107 for Northern Michigan University.

Northern Michigan University

Marquette, MI · Public

Oakland University

Rochester Hills, MI · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Marquette, MI
Rochester Hills, MI
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
6,556
12,351
Acceptance rate
84%
88%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.32–3.82
3.32–3.82
SAT (middle 50%)
970–1190
1030–1230
ACT (middle 50%)
20–26
21–29
Test policy
Test blind
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,085
$9,120
Full cost / yr
$27,841
$25,182
In-state tuition
$14,277
$15,262
Out-of-state tuition
$19,773
$23,188
Application fee
Not reported
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$7,697
$4,422
$30k - $48k
$7,185
$4,560
$48k - $75k
$11,051
$6,711
$75k - $110k
$16,324
$11,874
Over $110k
$22,268
$19,217
Outcomes
Graduation rate
52%
57%
Freshman retention
78%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$37,996
$49,017
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,107
$58,612
Median debt at graduation
$21,474
$22,750
Student body
Pell grant recipients
28%
32%
First-generation students
28%
32%
International students
1%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Northern Michigan University or Oakland University harder to get into?
Northern Michigan University is harder to get into. It admits about 84% of applicants, compared with 88% at Oakland University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Northern Michigan University or Oakland University?
Oakland University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $9,120 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $14,085 at Northern Michigan University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Northern Michigan University and Oakland University?
Before aid, Oakland University costs about $25,182 a year and Northern Michigan University about $27,841. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Northern Michigan University or Oakland University?
Oakland University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $4,422 there, against about $7,697 at Northern Michigan University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Northern Michigan University or Oakland University?
Oakland University is the larger of the two, with about 12,351 undergraduates against 6,556 at Northern Michigan University.
Does Northern Michigan University or Oakland University have a better graduation rate?
Oakland University has the higher graduation rate, at about 57% against 52% at Northern Michigan University.
Do graduates of Northern Michigan University or Oakland University earn more?
Oakland University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $58,612 ten years after enrolling, against about $47,107 for Northern Michigan University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Northern Michigan University and Oakland University require SAT or ACT scores?
Northern Michigan University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. Oakland University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Northern Michigan University and Oakland University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 970–1190 at Northern Michigan University and 1030–1230 at Oakland University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school