Skip to content

Northern Michigan University vs The University of Olivet

Northern Michigan University is a public university in Marquette, MI. The University of Olivet is a private university in Olivet, MI. The University of Olivet admits about 83% of applicants and Northern Michigan University about 84%, making The University of Olivet the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $14,085 a year at Northern Michigan University after aid, and about $21,393 at The University of Olivet. About 52% of students graduate at Northern Michigan University, compared with 36% at The University of Olivet. Ten years after enrolling, The University of Olivet alumni earn a median of about $47,907, against $47,107 for Northern Michigan University.

Northern Michigan University

Marquette, MI · Public

The University of Olivet

Olivet, MI · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Marquette, MI
Olivet, MI
Setting
Suburban
Rural
Undergraduates
6,556
892
Acceptance rate
84%
83%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.32–3.82
3.32–3.82
SAT (middle 50%)
970–1190
910–1120
ACT (middle 50%)
20–26
18–23
Test policy
Test blind
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,085
$21,393
Full cost / yr
$27,841
$47,069
In-state tuition
$14,277
$34,068
Out-of-state tuition
$19,773
$34,068
Application fee
Not reported
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$7,697
$19,656
$30k - $48k
$7,185
$20,442
$48k - $75k
$11,051
$20,564
$75k - $110k
$16,324
$21,730
Over $110k
$22,268
$24,068
Outcomes
Graduation rate
52%
36%
Freshman retention
78%
61%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$37,996
$42,637
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,107
$47,907
Median debt at graduation
$21,474
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
28%
49%
First-generation students
28%
33%
International students
1%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Northern Michigan University or The University of Olivet harder to get into?
The University of Olivet is harder to get into. It admits about 83% of applicants, compared with 84% at Northern Michigan University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Northern Michigan University or The University of Olivet?
Northern Michigan University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,085 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $21,393 at The University of Olivet. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Northern Michigan University and The University of Olivet?
Before aid, Northern Michigan University costs about $27,841 a year and The University of Olivet about $47,069. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Northern Michigan University or The University of Olivet?
Northern Michigan University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,697 there, against about $19,656 at The University of Olivet. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Northern Michigan University or The University of Olivet?
Northern Michigan University is the larger of the two, with about 6,556 undergraduates against 892 at The University of Olivet.
Does Northern Michigan University or The University of Olivet have a better graduation rate?
Northern Michigan University has the higher graduation rate, at about 52% against 36% at The University of Olivet.
Do graduates of Northern Michigan University or The University of Olivet earn more?
The University of Olivet alumni earn more on average: a median of about $47,907 ten years after enrolling, against about $47,107 for Northern Michigan University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Northern Michigan University and The University of Olivet require SAT or ACT scores?
Northern Michigan University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. The University of Olivet is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Northern Michigan University and The University of Olivet look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 970–1190 at Northern Michigan University and 910–1120 at The University of Olivet. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school