Skip to content

Northwestern Oklahoma State University vs Oklahoma City University

Northwestern Oklahoma State University is a public university in Alva, OK, and Oklahoma City University is a private university in Oklahoma City, OK. Northwestern Oklahoma State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 65% of applicants against 77% at Oklahoma City University. Northwestern Oklahoma State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $10,104 a year against $22,857 at Oklahoma City University. About 65% of students graduate at Oklahoma City University, compared with 33% at Northwestern Oklahoma State University. Ten years after enrolling, Oklahoma City University alumni earn a median of about $54,655, against $44,358 for Northwestern Oklahoma State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Northwestern Oklahoma State University

Alva, OK · Public

Oklahoma City University

Oklahoma City, OK · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Alva, OK
Oklahoma City, OK
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,498
1,514
Acceptance rate
65%
77%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.33–3.83
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
803–1036
1050–1260
ACT (middle 50%)
16–21
21–27
Test policy
Considered
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$10,104
$22,857
Full cost / yr
$18,672
$47,247
In-state tuition
$5,970
$35,648
Out-of-state tuition
$11,664
$35,648
Application fee
Not reported
$55
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$6,439
$15,187
$30k - $48k
$7,828
$18,079
$48k - $75k
$10,539
$20,511
$75k - $110k
$12,638
$26,803
Over $110k
$16,065
$29,358
Outcomes
Graduation rate
33%
65%
Freshman retention
65%
84%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,997
$42,312
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,358
$54,655
Median debt at graduation
$17,355
$20,835
Student body
Pell grant recipients
41%
24%
First-generation students
43%
27%
International students
2%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Northwestern Oklahoma State University or Oklahoma City University harder to get into?
Northwestern Oklahoma State University is harder to get into. It admits about 65% of applicants, compared with 77% at Oklahoma City University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Northwestern Oklahoma State University or Oklahoma City University?
Northwestern Oklahoma State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $10,104 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,857 at Oklahoma City University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Northwestern Oklahoma State University and Oklahoma City University?
Before aid, Northwestern Oklahoma State University costs about $18,672 a year and Oklahoma City University about $47,247. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Northwestern Oklahoma State University or Oklahoma City University?
Northwestern Oklahoma State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $6,439 there, against about $15,187 at Oklahoma City University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Northwestern Oklahoma State University or Oklahoma City University?
Oklahoma City University is the larger of the two, with about 1,514 undergraduates against 1,498 at Northwestern Oklahoma State University.
Does Northwestern Oklahoma State University or Oklahoma City University have a better graduation rate?
Oklahoma City University has the higher graduation rate, at about 65% against 33% at Northwestern Oklahoma State University.
Do graduates of Northwestern Oklahoma State University or Oklahoma City University earn more?
Oklahoma City University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,655 ten years after enrolling, against about $44,358 for Northwestern Oklahoma State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Northwestern Oklahoma State University and Oklahoma City University require SAT or ACT scores?
Northwestern Oklahoma State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Oklahoma City University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Northwestern Oklahoma State University and Oklahoma City University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 803–1036 at Northwestern Oklahoma State University and 1050–1260 at Oklahoma City University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school