Skip to content

Ohio Northern University vs Shawnee State University

Ohio Northern University is a private university in Ada, OH, and Shawnee State University is a public university in Portsmouth, OH. Shawnee State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 72% of applicants against 74% at Ohio Northern University. Shawnee State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,381 a year against $24,478 at Ohio Northern University. About 75% of students graduate at Ohio Northern University, compared with 45% at Shawnee State University. Ten years after enrolling, Ohio Northern University alumni earn a median of about $80,928, against $39,596 for Shawnee State University.

Ohio Northern University

Ada, OH · Private

Shawnee State University

Portsmouth, OH · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Ada, OH
Portsmouth, OH
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
2,489
2,247
Acceptance rate
74%
72%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.46–3.96
3.36–3.86
SAT (middle 50%)
1175–1400
890–1180
ACT (middle 50%)
24–29
18–24
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$24,478
$14,381
Full cost / yr
$53,580
$21,974
In-state tuition
$39,800
$10,626
Out-of-state tuition
$39,800
$17,358
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$18,525
$12,310
$30k - $48k
$19,223
$11,956
$48k - $75k
$22,336
$14,326
$75k - $110k
$25,605
$16,787
Over $110k
$27,710
$18,754
Outcomes
Graduation rate
75%
45%
Freshman retention
84%
72%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$62,686
$35,080
Median earnings (10 yr)
$80,928
$39,596
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$23,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
21%
39%
First-generation students
24%
43%
International students
2%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Ohio Northern University or Shawnee State University harder to get into?
Shawnee State University is harder to get into. It admits about 72% of applicants, compared with 74% at Ohio Northern University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Ohio Northern University or Shawnee State University?
Shawnee State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,381 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,478 at Ohio Northern University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Ohio Northern University and Shawnee State University?
Before aid, Shawnee State University costs about $21,974 a year and Ohio Northern University about $53,580. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Ohio Northern University or Shawnee State University?
Shawnee State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,310 there, against about $18,525 at Ohio Northern University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Ohio Northern University or Shawnee State University?
Ohio Northern University is the larger of the two, with about 2,489 undergraduates against 2,247 at Shawnee State University.
Does Ohio Northern University or Shawnee State University have a better graduation rate?
Ohio Northern University has the higher graduation rate, at about 75% against 45% at Shawnee State University.
Do graduates of Ohio Northern University or Shawnee State University earn more?
Ohio Northern University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $80,928 ten years after enrolling, against about $39,596 for Shawnee State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Ohio Northern University and Shawnee State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Ohio Northern University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Shawnee State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Ohio Northern University and Shawnee State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1175–1400 at Ohio Northern University and 890–1180 at Shawnee State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school