Skip to content

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus vs University of Tulsa

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus is a public university in Stillwater, OK. University of Tulsa is a private university in Tulsa, OK. University of Tulsa admits about 62% of applicants and Oklahoma State University-Main Campus about 75%, making University of Tulsa the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $15,000 a year at University of Tulsa after aid, and about $17,447 at Oklahoma State University-Main Campus. About 73% of students graduate at University of Tulsa, compared with 67% at Oklahoma State University-Main Campus. Ten years after enrolling, University of Tulsa alumni earn a median of about $61,408, against $57,413 for Oklahoma State University-Main Campus.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus

Stillwater, OK · Public

University of Tulsa

Tulsa, OK · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Stillwater, OK
Tulsa, OK
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
21,773
2,813
Acceptance rate
75%
62%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.41–3.91
3.55–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1040–1250
1223–1530
ACT (middle 50%)
20–27
25–34
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$17,447
$15,000
Full cost / yr
$28,290
$64,459
In-state tuition
$10,234
$50,061
Out-of-state tuition
$25,754
$50,061
Application fee
$40
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,243
$5,578
$30k - $48k
$12,314
$8,616
$48k - $75k
$15,893
$10,871
$75k - $110k
$21,896
$18,579
Over $110k
$24,711
$25,473
Outcomes
Graduation rate
67%
73%
Freshman retention
85%
92%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,855
$54,779
Median earnings (10 yr)
$57,413
$61,408
Median debt at graduation
$20,500
$21,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
28%
27%
First-generation students
29%
23%
International students
1%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Oklahoma State University-Main Campus or University of Tulsa harder to get into?
University of Tulsa is harder to get into. It admits about 62% of applicants, compared with 75% at Oklahoma State University-Main Campus. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Oklahoma State University-Main Campus or University of Tulsa?
University of Tulsa is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,000 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,447 at Oklahoma State University-Main Campus. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Oklahoma State University-Main Campus and University of Tulsa?
Before aid, Oklahoma State University-Main Campus costs about $28,290 a year and University of Tulsa about $64,459. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Oklahoma State University-Main Campus or University of Tulsa?
University of Tulsa. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $5,578 there, against about $12,243 at Oklahoma State University-Main Campus. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Oklahoma State University-Main Campus or University of Tulsa?
Oklahoma State University-Main Campus is the larger of the two, with about 21,773 undergraduates against 2,813 at University of Tulsa.
Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus or University of Tulsa have a better graduation rate?
University of Tulsa has the higher graduation rate, at about 73% against 67% at Oklahoma State University-Main Campus.
Do graduates of Oklahoma State University-Main Campus or University of Tulsa earn more?
University of Tulsa alumni earn more on average: a median of about $61,408 ten years after enrolling, against about $57,413 for Oklahoma State University-Main Campus. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Oklahoma State University-Main Campus and University of Tulsa require SAT or ACT scores?
Oklahoma State University-Main Campus is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Tulsa is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Oklahoma State University-Main Campus and University of Tulsa look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1040–1250 at Oklahoma State University-Main Campus and 1223–1530 at University of Tulsa. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school